Perfume, Oakmoss and Treemoss (Evernia furfuracea)

Oakmoss (Evernia prunastri) and Treemoss are closely related, and both are common and grow in the US.  Most of the Oakmoss/Treemoss harvested for the perfume industry comes from France and Eastern Europe.  The photograph looked like a moss growing on my Pinyon pines, so off I went uphill looking for samples.  Found one, but got distracted by that Pandora Pinemoth caterpillar jumping me!  I took a couple photos and did a bit more research.

Treemoss (Evernia furfuracea)

Treemoss (Evernia furfuracea)

As it turns out, Treemoss grows on Pines, including my Pinyon Pines.  There do seem to be a few issues with Oakmoss products, because the two are frequently mixed together and sold as Oakmoss.

I own the adulterant.  Alrighty then.  It is still considered an essential oil, perfume base note and fixative.  Not sure how much I have, but enough to try alcohol extraction.

Treemoss has some medicinal uses as well; however, it will be reserved for perfume in my food forest.  Oakmoss/Treemoss is used in some of my favorite perfumes, and used extensively by Guerlain in their product line.

Unfortunately, the French government has put restrictions on Oakmoss/Treemoss use because some people are allergic to it.  In fact, people are allergic to many essential oils, including rose.  I am not sure why they are pushing on this ingredient, and the perfume industry is not reconciled to the decision.

However it goes, I have two important fixatives that are also base notes.  I will add several plants new to this garden, but that I have grown elsewhere, to expand my scent repertoire.

Treemoss is available now, so if I find enough on my property, I may have sample perfumes before summer is out.  I ordered tiny bottles for essential oils today.

My food forest is showing signs of feeding me and I can take a peek at other benefits possible from a circular economy, like deer bedding, honey, textiles, winemaking, medicinals, and Treemoss for perfumes.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, medicinal plants, perfume, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment