Back to Orris Root

Harvested considerably more Iris germanica root today, and left enough roots on each set of leaves for an increase. I peeled and grated them and left them open on a flat plate to dry. The first batch is already dry to touch.

Although I will increase my iris bed this way, note that they will not be as drought tolerant as larger rhizomes. They will need a little babying in my dry climate.  In Texas or Seattle I would just put them back in the ground for winter root growth.

For my dry mountain garden, I potted them up in two 12 inch pots that will get supplemental water this year. I have one more 12 inch pot and will fill it also.  These small pieces will likely take 3 years to fully recover here, so I plan to leave all 3 pots in the greenroom this winter to get an edge on root replacement, then replant in the spring.

Any small rhizomes I process after filling a third 12 inch pot will be put back in the raised stone bed.

My goal is to process about 1/3 of the 900 plants.  Unless I get bored with processing Orris Root or too busy with other chores.  At the moment, it seems perfectly feasible.  I am delighted at the prospect of abundance in my food forest.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, perfume, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment