Rabbit Hutch Access

I am creeping forward on my alternate access to the Rabbit Hutch. Still rough but less likely to fall.

Rabbit Hutch Access

Rabbit Hutch Access

The path skirts trees on the right, and drops into a gravel pile and rock pile on the left.  Maybe 4 feet down.

Step Up

Steps

I dug this area out this morning and made 2 steps from the edge of my driveway to the concrete pad for the propane tank (removed).  The pad is still mostly buried by a dumptruck load of concrete mix.  The pile of concrete mix also bled onto the driveway and will have to be removed.  It interferes with the proposed garage.  I will use this pile of gravel for this project.

I used gravel from the top of the pad, so you can now see part of it.  The path will go straight uphill from the pad, to the entrance to the Deep Forest.  The incline is about 3 feet over a 20 foot length.  Now I can access it, I will see if I can enter closer to the driveway.  I haven’t cut the tangle of dead limbs on that end just yet.  Not sure I want to cut all of it, it breaks the wind and is more private.

If I go all the way up on the outside, I need to guard the 4 foot drop in some way to catch or anchor feet sliding off.  Perhaps by angling the path higher on the outside edge.  Another benefit to this path is I can shut down the other path through the middle of the Alpine Rock Garden.  It sometimes attracts folks who think it is a continuation of the street that dead ends at my property.  It will be less confusing. An unintentional benefit.

They said this week would be cooler.  Once the sun makes it over the hill about 9 am it is fiercely burning.  This is the longest hot spell in my 4 years here. I am not out past 9 am.  I am getting the vaguest pale tan, my first ever.

Turkey is still on sale, so I bought another one last Thursday.  I am canning it today.

After that, I will can salsa from the remainder of last year’s dried chili peppers.  I usually run out before the new dried chilis are ready, and eat fresh green chili all summer.  This year I still have enough for about 12 cups of canned salsa.  I like having extra better.

Back to the hill early tomorrow morning.  The weeks slide by and I love retired life.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, rabbits and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

