Rabbit Hutch in the Deep Forest

As I continue to clear dead limbs in the Deep Forest around the Rabbit Hutch, I have better access to the new pathway I will create for access.  I can finally walk through, but it is still uneven and steeper than I’d like for a daily trip all winter.  It is more direct and much shorter than the steeper alternative.  Today I decided to plant Banana Yucca on the 3 foot berm for additional privacy from my neighbor and from the street.  They will give more wind protection too.

Banana Yucca

Banana Yucca

I have a lot of these and would like more.  They are evergreen and have huge flashy flowers that I want for perfume and fruits, plus 888 other uses.  Can’t have too many Banana Yucca.

I have a few small Banana Yuccas uphill that I will transplant, that are too shaded to bloom. I will also plant seeds.  The berm is mostly bare but there is one 18 inch Pinyon Pine already started.

I have tiny White Milkwort flowers uphill that I will try to transplant, perfect for this spot:

White Milkwort (Polygala alba)

White Milkwort (Polygala alba)

A couple large rocks after the path can be traversed with an appliance dolly, will be perfect to anchor Creeping Mahonia and White Milkwort.

Creeping Mahonia

Creeping Mahonia

I am close to being able to add gravel to the pathway but still lean toward pine needles.  It seems more feasible than I first thought after removing a lot of limbs.  Several days into this and still at it.  I am chopping the deadwood into smaller chunks that are laying on the ground like mulch.

I have 3 possible seating locations in the Deep Forest.  It is opening up nicely but is looking more “park” than “wild and mysterious.”  Darn, I loved the wild and mysterious look.  Oh well, less fire hazard and fewer accidents requiring antiseptic.

The Deep Forest opens to a small “meadow” to the south and that adds to the deep woods effect.  I seeded Blue Grama Grass there 3 years ago and it waves in the breezes.

The Deep Forest is adjacent my building site on the north side and the Meadow is to the east.

I “should” be working on that Southwest Gate Pathway… but blistering sun on fair skin!  Deep Forest is much cooler too.  Work is work, I suppose, it all needs to be done.

Apparently I defaulted to leave the Rabbit Hutch in place, and need to level and make minor repairs.  It is so pleasant to enter the Deep Forest, I will now have an excuse to do so every day.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper, rabbits, wild edibles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

