Rabbit Hutch Project

Of course I went back to the rabbit hutch this morning. I spent a while cutting dead branches out and looking closer at the area. Incredibly pleasant deep shade with a light breeze. Perfect for hot days like we are having.  I wanted to drag a chaise, novel and a tall icy pitcher of lemonade in there.

I looked closer at the access problem, so see if there is an easy solution.

Embankment

Embankment

As the bulldozer cleared the alpine rock garden, it pushed a long pile of topsoil up to make an earth berm on the north side.  It does cut the winter wind a bit, and is about 3 feet high.  To get into this area, I have to climb over the berm, pretty steep for icy weather.  I did notice that as the berm fades toward the driveway, I can exit on the inside.  This is very uneven and rough, but I could create a pathway that evens it out, with a couple steps cut in.  I decided to do this for access whether I move the rabbit hutch or not.

As for the hutch itself, its legs are partly buried and I will have to dig it out before moving it.  It is 54 inches wide and 40 inches deep by 48 inches tall.  I did not start digging, but made good progress on cutting dead limbs and getting it easier to walk through.

It is under my Venerable One Seed Juniper and is quite peaceful in there.  Home-like.  I am thinking about making a patio of gravel or flat rocks laid on gravel.  I like it with the soft soil like in the woods where I grew up so I may use a thick layer of Pine needles instead.  To be determined.

Meantime, my neighbor was trying to get my attention.  She has her own little seating area under evergreens that has a nice breeze and a picnic table.  She invited me to see her wildflowers and lo and behold, next to her door she has violets running rampant.  The parents of the one I have in the flower pot.  She got the first one at a local nursery, and claims purple blooms.  She did not know the name.  She was planning to weed some out of the sidewalk, but let me get them instead.  They came out fairly well so I potted them up and watered well.

She has them in her patio area in a big pot plus extras all over and waters every day.  It does make a pretty entry.  As I planted, I saw seed pods too.  Yay!

We sat at her picnic table and visited a while.  Too hot today but nice in the shade.  I still haven’t decided how to handle the rabbit hutch.  I do like the sacred space.  I will look closer at safe ingress and egress.  Climbing in over the embankment is never going to work in the winter and may not in the summer.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, permaculture, Prepper, rabbits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rabbit Hutch Project

  1. Helen says:

    Great when you get something so lovely from a neighbour.

  2. Helen,
    It is the best kind of gardening. I have promised her some irises when I dig them to start a batch of Orris Root for perfumes. She has cleared a spot for them and needs about 30 rhizomes to fill it in. Supposed to be cooler next week. As soon as I get Mexican Hat seeds she has dibs on those. While at the table, she was looking at photos on my camera, she paints flowers on vests for sale and wants some of my photographs.

Leave a Reply

