Path to Southwest Gate

HAPPY 4TH OF JULY!!!!!

The neighbors are already shooting off fireworks even though they are prohibited this year due to fire hazard.  I am making a cherry pie for a party tomorrow, on request.  But I saw a cute red, white, and blue pie onlne… did not look yummy though.  My grandkids would like it 🙂

I brought down rocks this morning, and moved gravel for my Southwest Gate pathway.

Pathway to Southwest Gate

Pathway to Southwest Gate

After the path angles to the right here, it angles back to the left and hits the gate in the top left corner of the photograph.  I set 3 rocks on the right side to show width and curves.

At this point I started doing a little more clean up around this curved line, and could see a dozen or so Horsetail Milkweed shooting up through the compost pile.

The Sumac bush by the Rabbit Gate isn’t getting enough light to fruit heavily and I not only trimmed some deadwood from it, I trimmed a One Seed Juniper way back.  I will cut the tree down because it is growing into the fence and crowding other trees.  In the meantime it opened up a little more light for the Sumac.

I pulled some dead flower stalks from raised bed 8 and used them to mulch a lilac bush I planted just around the curve.  As soon as it leafs out I will take photographs.  It has been in a pot (watered) and is barely showing leaf buds.

To the right this path will half circle around another bed, and there are plenty of wildflowers in the bed already, including Copper Globemallow, Horsetail Milkweed, Scarlet Globemallow, Purple Asters and Sunflowers.

To the left, near the fence, is an Arrowhead Viburnum planted in early spring and just now showing leaf buds.

I measured the path width and needed to clean and push the compost back.  I now have 4 Horsetail Milkweed where there were only 2.  None of the others are blooming yet.

I planted a Himrod Grape against the fence.

It is pretty outside today and I enjoyed working on the area which is the view from my south window over the kitchen sink.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Path to Southwest Gate

  1. Helen says:

    I don’t get some people (re fireworks). I hope you enjoy your day anyway, Rebecca.

Leave a Reply

