Himrod Grapevine (Vitis labrusca)

I have had my Himrod Grapevine in a large pot but planted it out yesterday. After 2 days of rain, and a 5 gallon bucket of water in the planting hole, in he went.

Himrod Grapevine

Himrod Grapevine

This photo was taken this morning and he seems okay for the moment.

Per information from jgeerlings (homeflavorschattanooga.wordpress.com), I planted Himrod under a tree so he can scramble up the support.  In addition, this is a dead tree that I see from my kitchen window.

The dead tree is just far enough it won’t hit any structure if it goes down in a windstorm.  I have seen Wisteria vines grown in dead trees in Dallas, and have wanted to grow a vine on this one, although I had not thought about grapes.

One advantage I see for using the dead tree is that after at least 4 years, the roots are now decomposing and have a nice, water retentive, nutrient dense, easy path for Himrod’s root system.  Pinyon Pines commonly grow into a Juniper’s root system in this manner.  Grapevines can sink roots down 9 feet, and that helps in my dry climate.

Himrod is a seedless white grape, a cross between Ontario and Thompson Seedless.  It is sweet and crispy, and winter hardy to zone 4.  I love seedless grapes, but the downside is losing the health benefits of grapeseed.

I have read that Himrod does make excellent table grapes and raisins.  It can even be used for wine although most labrusca grapes do better as fresh or juice.  My interest is in raisins, which require seedless grapes.  Fresh, too, of course.  Sun dried raisins… mmmmm… all year good.

One vine only produces 10-15 pounds of grapes, so I will need more.  Per jgeerlings again, labrusca is easy to make cuttings from, so if I keep this one alive long enough to get a good root system, cuttings it is.

I do want other varieties also, and have room for them.

Himrod is my grape du jour in my food forest, may he live and prosper in his new location.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Himrod Grapevine (Vitis labrusca)

  1. jgeerlings says:

    Good luck with it. Once those roots get down it will be quite drought tolerant. The first year especially it will need your attention on watering. Thanks for the call out.

  2. I remembered what you told me! I was just waiting for the rainy season to help get it started.

  3. He looks pretty small but promising nonetheless – may he thrive in the wonderfully diverse environment you have created!

Leave a Reply

