Goldenrain Tree (Koelreuteria paniculata)

Rain 2 days in a row has me planting odds n ends like one of my Goldenrain Trees that I started from seed last year.

Goldenrain Tree (Koelreuteria paniculata)

Goldenrain Tree (Koelreuteria paniculata)

As pretty as Goldenrain Tree is, I would like it inside the fence, but put it outside and within sight.  Its panicles of yellow flowers are a beautiful sight July through August and the flowers cover the ground underneath.  The pretty seedpods look like peach lanterns and show up in September through October to give a long season of pretty display.  Followed immediately by yellow fall leaves that again fall like yellow rain and cover the ground in yellow.

Add in edible leaves (cooked) and what could be nicer?  Goldenrain Tree is being analyzed for its many compounds and may be a cancer preventative and the seeds may be insecticidal.  I have eaten the leaves (best cooked) and found them tasty.

It is also known as the Varnish Tree back home in Asia.  I haven’t found the exact steps to make varnish, but intuitively guess tapping it like pines are tapped for turpentine gets the process started.  I will find more about that later.

Goldenrain Tree is invasive in the eastern US and Florida.  I collected the seeds in front of a restaurant where I used to eat lunch on occasion.  I watched its pretty display for months waiting for ripe seeds.  The seed coats are very hard and I nicked them before potting.  This tree is not invasive in New Mexico.

Pathway to Southwest Gate

Pathway to Southwest Gate

I also worked on the curved pathway to the Southwest Gate.  On the right is a compost pile.  It isn’t dense and plants are coming up through it.  I planted sunflower seeds underneath… we’ll see.  Wild sunflowers are coming up elsewhere, most about 6 inches tall, and I had wild sunflowers here last year.

I planted tomato and cucumber seedlings today.  Summer is finally here.

I hope my Goldenrain Tree takes hold, I buried deadwood with it and it is on its own, but it is now rained in.  These trees are fast growers and brittle so prefer a sheltered spot which it will have, but enough opening to get sun and rain.  I have 2 more Goldenrain Tree seedlings to plant.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, invasive species, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

