Visiting my Property

The Dog Head Forest Fire is 61% contained and they are putting more reinforcement on my northeast side.  It has spread east and they are trying to contain that as well.  The smoke was noticeably down this morning but they warn it will increase this afternoon, so I took the opportunity to bring rocks down from uphill.

I also transplanted an unhappy Prickly Pear to augment my fenceline, picked treemoss, found a new plant, and snacked on lung support a/k/a Copper Globemallow.  In other words, goofing around happily outside.

Prickly Pear Bloom

Prickly Pear Bloom

I will catch a Prickly Pear bloom fully open, but it is amazing how hidden under the trees these are.  I have early fruits scattered throughout but it is ongoing.  On my Texas prairie, Prickly Pear blooming was 3-5 feet off the ground and an in-your-face event easily seen from 300 feet away.  Here in the mountains it is all creeping under the small evergreens and spying on the secret life in the forest.

Unknown Seedling

Unknown Seedling

I have a little seedling uphill with green leaves backed by purple.  At least the 4 older leaves have purple on them.  I don’t recognize it yet, but this was taken at 4x and it is small still.  I marked it off with a circle of rocks so I can follow developments.  It gets early morning sun, but is nestled under a good sized tree and shaded most of the day.

I picked up treemoss and now have plenty for perfume.  It is compressed and about 2 cups still drying in my bag.  The smell is much stronger as it accumulates.     It is subtly sweet, complex and deep.  I want to smell like that.

Amazes me how much treemoss is on the ground, and that picking up fallen moss does not imperil the source.  I have seen photos of Oakmoss and Treemoss in Eastern Europe and it grows into much larger colonies, so my illusions of abundance are not based in Market Economy reality but in the rich scent accumulating.

After my worries over forest fire, it is a relief to innocently wander through the woods with little more to worry about than rattlesnakes, cactus spines, bear, and puma.  Another day in the Garden of Eden.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, medicinal plants, perfume, permaculture, Prepper, wild edibles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Visiting my Property

  1. Helen says:

    Phew – good to hear that the fire is less of a risk!

  2. Helen,
    I hear ya. That messed up my sleeping patterns. What a relief.

  3. More predictable worries in the Garden of Eden than what you might meet in an urban setting!
    Lovely to see your prickly pear flower. The fruit are a big thing here in Egypt: known as “thorny figs” or “teen shorky”, they appear by the cart-load in Cairo in the summer, and are very carefully peeled by the sellers before being consumed in the street or carried home by the bagful.

Leave a Reply

