Dog Head Forest Fire Downshifting

An hour ago they announced 46% containment of the Dog Head Forest Fire including the northeast line, which is on my side of the fire.

I am relieved and grateful to nearly 900 firefighters working to suppress the fire.

For the last few days they held it at highway 337 but didn’t call it contained.  Today they predict less smoke, too. If it rains Thursday, that may be the end of it.  I certainly hope so.  I no longer expect rain from our rainy days, it rarely happens, then maybe a brief shower up to 1/4 inch.  Depends on how you define rain!  Firefighters say increased humidity helps too.

The wildlife corridor that my property backs up to runs north and south along the Manzano and Sandia mountains, and it is this wildlife corridor that has burned.  Loss of 18,000 acres of wild area is a big loss for wildlife already stressed by Albuquerque growth and years of drought.  Brer Rabbit will be fine, but Brer Bear and Brer Puma need large ranges that were already threatened.  We’ll see how they do this year.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dog Head Forest Fire Downshifting

  1. jgeerlings says:

    Good news and I hope you will still be there when that burned area once again supports the big predators (if you want to stay).

  2. Jgeerlings
    I am not sure this area can support big predators without it. It is dry and they require a huge area. I can hope some escaped and moved this direction, but they would be entering other territories. A lot of animals and plants were destroyed. Likely cause was a campfire in the campground where it started.

    As for coming or going, hard to say, it will take something to sell, and relocate. My son & family want me in Washington state. I would live in town, but the backwoods has water. He and I have talked about it since I retired and am no longer tied to town… 8 months now. I have no practice at being free, but I like it so far.

  3. So glad the fire is contained and I will pray for rain on Thursday (just as they prayed for rain in the Persian Gulf state where I used to live). From reading your blog, your land is a gift and you have such an understanding of the natural environment and how to live sustainably there, it would be truly a pity if you couldn’t stay – at least for a while longer. Keep faith in what you are doing!

  4. Sylvia,
    I understand the daily prayer for rain, so much of the planet is bone dry and with little vegetation. My daily prayer sounds like “please rain.” It has gotten very dry here, and my 16 inch average dropped to 12 inches. Pinon pines require 16 inches, so they will not be able to return where burned out. The government made it clear they would not reseed with pinyons in southern New Mexico after last year’s fires. The average rainfall dropped below sustainability.

Leave a Reply

