Field Bindweed (Convolvulus arvensis)

I have no Field Bindweed, yet. It has moved in across the street, so by next year, I likely will.

Field Bindweed (Convolvulus arvensis)

Field Bindweed (Convolvulus arvensis)

It’s pretty, a perennial morning glory.  This one is native to Europe and Asia, but naturalized in the US.  We don’t appreciate it.  Here in New Mexico it is listed as a noxious weed, and gets in Market Economy fields and chokes out annual crops.  It offends native purists too because it chokes the life out of native plants.  Just the alien invader that gets on Eradicate lists.

The rest of the story is that for all that scientists love to go to the Amazon forests looking for a cure for cancer… the cure may be getting pummeled to death by Roundup in America’s unholy War on Plants.  Oops.

In tests, Bindweed extract (water) completely destroyed virulent cancer tumors in lab mice, including prostrate, lung, liver, and more.  Granted, it was just the little squeakers, but howzabout that Bindweed tea I am going to add to my repertoire?

In addition, it has angiogenic properties, meaning it encourages formation of new blood vessels.  That encourages vasodilation, improves circulatory function and lowers blood pressure in the squeekers.  Not mentioned, but just guessing, the main reason for old skin is the loss of blood capillaries to feed your skin.  Old skin is mainly young skin that starved to death.  Seems reasonable that it might open up your circulatory system and feed your skin too.  As you know, that’s a plant person talking, not a doctor.

The lipophilic glycoside constituents have cytotoxic effects on human tumor cell lines, it kills them.  That’s a test on human cancers, not squeeker cancers.

One of the downsides mentioned was the possibility of increased absorption of toxins due to new capillaries and vasodilation.  It sure wouldn’t combine well with all those toxins doctors give you for chemotherapy, would it?  Just guessing again here, but I’m a plant person, not a medical professional.

Another amazing quality our pretty public enemy no. 1 is that she is great for cleansing the body’s internal systems.

In a possibly related cleanse, Field Bindweed restores chemically-trashed agricultural land by returning soil to original fertility.  This may be accomplished in part by its 20 feet deep root system and that an acre of Field Bindweed generates 2.5-5 tons of roots per acre.  And I thought Daikon Radish were awesome powerhouses for their 3 foot deep regeneration of enriched soil.

If you plan Silviculture or a food forest on poor soil, Field Bindweed would give your trees a deep and beneficial start and trees would shade them out in time.  If you plan a Market Economy annual vegetable field, good luck.

I would not make a tea out of any Field Bindweed not grown on my property.  They are despised and poisoned in the US and you may eat some Roundup with it.  Or, God forbid, Atrazine, if you live near corn fields.

So if I get a bit of Field Bindweed moving in from the hood, you know I am going to drink it in my winter teas now and again even if I haven’t taste tested it yet.  Field Bindweed cannot possibly taste worse than Horehound, right?

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, invasive species, medicinal plants, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Field Bindweed (Convolvulus arvensis)

  1. Helen says:

    I recently came across photos of bindweed for the first time and was surprised. I had expected something really ugly – something which perhaps be worthy of the hysteria it generates. Instead, I learned it is actually a pretty wildflower.

    Good to know it has medicinal properties as well ☺️.

  2. Helen,
    Amazes me how much hysteria is generated over plants and gardens. Must be connected to a base level of general fear. It is one of the most poisoned plants so using it is iffy. It has the most amazing root system that could be a nurse plant for tree roots. I make jokes but eradicate is an overused concept.

Leave a Reply

