Baby White Aster (Chaetopappa ericoides)

Baby White Aster hugs the ground at 2-6 inches. It is a good candidate for my alpine garden and any other location it chooses.

Baby White Aster (Chaetopappa ericoides)

Baby White Aster (Chaetopappa ericoides)

Baby White Aster is a perennial native to the Southwest, Great Plains, and northern Mexico.  It spreads by windblown seed but also from the roots and is common in semidesert areas.  This photo shows one climbing up the face of the road cut.  Lovely if it would cover the road cut with tiny 1/2 inch daisies tumbling around the purple-flowered Colorado 4 O’clocks I already have started on that steep, hot, dry, west-facing road cut.  It blooms from April through August, a long season. The Colorado 4 O’clocks are so pretty when they start blooming that my neighbor across the street asked if she could dig one up.  I declined, their roots are huge and a good 4 feet deep, and impractical to dig.  I gave her a baggie full of seeds.  I will take a photo when mine start blooming again.  She already has these but treats them with disdain.  They transplant from root cuttings and I will try a few more on that ugly road cut in front.

Do not eat Baby White Asters.

The Zuni tribe uses an infusion of the whole pulverized plant massaged on their body to relieve aches from colds, swellings and rheumatism.  That makes Baby White Aster a nice analgesic or pain reliever that I can infuse for my Pharmacopeia.  No instructions are given, but I will try an oil infusion.  I will dry some for storage as well.  I could have used a topical analgesic when I sprained my ankle last winter, especially at night when it was hard to sleep.  Never mind I was snowed in and not zinging over to the Market Economy to buy something.

In other words, I will experiment on myself with Baby White Aster as a topical analgesic and try to get it to beautify my almost barren road cut.

I have seen butterflies and bees on Baby White Asters but do not know if they are grazed by rabbits or other wildlife; I haven’t seen any sign of munching on mine but there isn’t much information available online.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Bees, Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, medicinal plants, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

