Dog Head Forest Fire Growing

The winds are pushing the Dog Head Forest Fire in my direction, but as the wind is shifting west, and will be mostly west for the next few days, I may be missed by a hair. The evacuation shifted east of the Manzanos this morning, so the wind may push it off the mountains, instead of straight north into my lap.  There are horses and cattle to be evacuated, not easy for those folks.

Dog Head Forest Fire

Dog Head Forest Fire

I took this photo last night about 8 pm right before packing additional items to take out if I am evacuated.  I distilled my life to one pickup load!  Since the fire was pushing hard in this direction, I stayed up until 4 am, until the wind shifted again.  I am tired this morning and we are on red alert for smoke inhalation and heat advisories.  Sipping water helps the throat.  Most of northern New Mexico is choking on smoke and the fire has spread to 2000 acres.

I always have emergency gear in my truck, including water, snacks, shovel, mylar blankets, blankets, heavy jacket, hiking boots, etc.  Learned to do that living in the backwoods growing up in Oregon and Alaska.

I packed more things for this type of emergency, like having important documents in a plastic container, grab and go.  I could walk out if necessary, but having a whole Tacoma pickup means I can take more things, like the Clampitts on their way to Beverly Hills.  Didn’t granny get to sit in her rocking chair on top of their worldly goods?  I need a driver.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, permaculture, Prepper. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dog Head Forest Fire Growing

  1. cobgoddess says:

    I do not know what to say. I just pray you will not have to go and the fires will stop. I hold you in my heart.

  2. Helen says:

    You seem calm – I sure hope the fire doesn’t come any closer. But I hope above all that you stay safe.

  3. jgeerlings says:

    That photo has a very menacing look. Sounds like you are as prepared as possible. Hoping for the best.

  4. It’s a reminder, isn’t it, of how precarious our lives can be? Many years ago, travelling in the Pyrenees, I came across mountainsides burnt to a cinder – the devastation from forest fires was terrible. I hope and pray that all is well, and that you don’t have to be evacuated. Distilling your life down to one truck-load is an interesting exercise, though is plastic the best kind of container for your precious documents?

  5. Sylvia,
    You have a point, they are not fireproof. Just handy docs that I could reorder, like my birth certificate and deed. I have some things pdf’d on a jump drive. Even my oldest photos are in duplicate with my sister. My daughterinlaw took over management of the more recent photos, mine are copies. My son digitized my CD collection, although the CDS are going with me. Artisan jewelry, a few books, original art, my research notes, seeds, knitting, crocheting, jewelrymaking tools, sewing machine, tools, food processing tools, and a few clothes and cosmetic bag. I don’t want to walk away, but those are essentially me. Realistically, since I gain skills, I can recreate everything else and do so ongoingly. I plant new trees shrubs floeers, I make jewelry, collect and dry herbs, draw and paint, knit, quilt, sew clothing, grow and store food. I create things willy nilly!

  6. Debra says:

    Rebecca, just be safe. We moved out of Colorado two years ago, so I know how devastating those wildfires can be. Sounds like you have it together. Keep us posted, and in the meantime will be keeping you and that whole area in prayer.

    Blessings, Debra

    • Debra
      I grew up in Oregon and remember dad going to fight forest fires. The difference here is lack of water for regeneration. Alaska had such a short growing season, also not resilient in the face of fire. I agree… better to run out of the way of these devastating fires!

Leave a Reply

