Dog Head Forest Fire Uncontained

The neighbor was mistaken, the Dog Head Forest Fire is not contained. As of this morning it had grown from less than 10 acres to 682 acres. The wind shifted and the smoke is over my property now.

Dog Head Forest Fire

Dog Head Forest Fire

About 50 homes have been evacuated, but not in my immediate area.  The wind shift is bad, because it can run the fire straight up the Manzano Mountains and to the Sandias.

Bad and wrong.

The ground firefighters had to back down due to heat, but they have been dropping retardant from the air.  Not much is on the news but we do have a hot line.  The head firefighter said they could use some rain to help get it under control.  Not a vote of confidence.  I hope this Dog Head Forest Fire gets contained and does not rip straight up these mountain chains.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, permaculture, Prepper and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dog Head Forest Fire Uncontained

  1. cobgoddess says:

    Be safe and call in the rain makers. Hope all will be well.

  2. Thanks Cobgoddess,
    We need rain for the fire and for all living things.

  3. jgeerlings says:

    I can’t like this post topic, but I hope for the best. Wish I could send you the showers that are coming through here.

  4. jgeerlings
    I wish you could send rain. The fire is 10 miles closer but the wind shifted away from my place. The weather forecast is pushing 100, dry, and windy. Not a drop of rain forecast. Government Martinez declared a state of emergency.
    The wind could push it out on the prairie, where it is less intense and easier to fight, but so far straight north along the Manzano Mountains. The wind died down just at dark, which helps.
    Not a happy situation. It is obvious that I love my place and my dreams for it. I don’t know what will happen.

    • Helen says:

      It will be sad if you lose what you have already built up!

      • Helen, I will surely feel sad. Today’s winds jumped it up to 12,000 acres. It looks bad, but the worst part of the fire shifted east. There are fires in California too.
        Just waiting to see what happens.

      • Helen says:

        There isn’t really anything else you can do, is there? Must be very trying – the feeling of powerlessness.

      • Helen,
        The only power I have is dancing in the universe and the music keeps changing.
        The fire is up to 16,000 acres and nearly 200 homes evacuated. That part of the Manzano Mountains is less populated. It is moving toward much denser population and larger economic loss. FEMA and the National Guard are involved, 700 firefighters, and the military base is letting the planes refuel.

  5. cobgoddess says:

    How is everything today? How are you?

  6. Hi cobgoddess
    I am fine so far, thank you. The fire is about 2000 acres but the wind and temps dropped during the night, which helped. We are all on red alert due smoke inhalation including Albuquerque and Santa Fe (town). I can feel it in my throat and lungs so I will stay inside as directed. Several days of mostly west winds may push the fire off the mountains and make it easier to contain, less vegetation. Hard on all the horse and cattle folks.

Leave a Reply

