Seed Planting, Calabazilla (Cucurbita foetidissima)

After looking over the south open area yesterday, this morning I planted the area with Calabazilla seeds.

Lost Forest London shape

Lost Forest L shape

This view is a continuation of the bare spot in yesterday’s photo.  The whole area is L shaped and both photos w! Ddddere taken from the corner.

I intended to seed the north side with Calabazilla, but the soil in this area is much better.  It will be 20 years before there is noticeable tree cover that might shade out the Calabazilla, so I decided to plant the seeds from one of my two gourds.  there are 200-300 seeds in a gourd. This is the right time to plant, so if they “take” I should see sprouts in a couple weeks.

I have 6 babies in my greenroom but will hold them until we get rain.  Too dry!  Tomorrow I will plant the seeds from the second gourd and hope for rain, none forecast.

This plant, with its up to 150 pound taproot that can be 8 feet long is my best hope for a solid crop of edible oil seeds.  From what I see along the road, they are less subject to drought stress than most plants (duh!  150 pound root structure holding moisture). If they do not start with these seeds, I will keep replanting them until they do.  It finally worked with the Winterfat, after all.

The other thing about Calabazilla is that deep 150 pound root, once the plant gets shaded out, is a deep pocket of humus in the soil.  I have used Daikon radish to add it’s big root to break clay soil down to 3 feet and add humus, but let’s face it, Daikon radish needs water and Calabazilla does not.  Plus, Calabazilla will produce a high quality eating oil that might kick my imported Market Economy Olive Oil.  Yummy stuff.  It does have a good linoleic acid percentage.

First Americans used Calabazilla seed oil to make lye soap.  I will certainly try that.  Plants first!

I read that in Mexico, a hectare of land will produce 2.5 tons of Calabazilla oil seed.  I don’t need so much as that!  It does make me look forward to the many uses of oil I can get from this wonderful native plant. Every other use is pure gravy.

Not that I discount edible high protein seeds, summer squash, livestock feed, biofuel, edible flowers, loofahs with natural soap, lye soap, and a few medicinal uses.

I feel like my high desert food forest is performing like a champ in response to my request to be included inside my food forest’s circular economy and have my Market Economy reliance removed one thing at a time.  Calabazilla is good stuff.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, greenhouse, medicinal plants, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

