Outbuilding and Planning Ahead

I have a small outbuilding that flanks my potager and was set into the hill behind it with a cladding of corrugated metal to protect the wood.

Outbuilding 10x12

Outbuilding 10×12

The hill abuts it to the south with a fairly steep slope from less than 2 feet at the front to about 5 feet at the back.  I suspect it is fairly dry because there is no sign of damage inside. It is built with 2x4s and 2x6s.  It has lights and 110 and 220 plugs because it was the prior owner’s workshop.  My guess it is about 20 years old.  The ground does moderate the temperature inside, winter and summer.  That’s what I want for my home!

The entrance is on the north side and the windows face west.  It is under the pinyon tree and cannot be seen from Google.  Little west heat gain, a lot of shade.

I have not used the building yet, but I have been collecting 1 inch thick stones as I run across them so I can face it with stone.  I have enough stones to cover about the bottom third.  My new south stone “field” is yielding stones for facing the building, too.

Not sure what I will use this building for, I have a list of possibilities.  This summer I plan to put a rain gutter on the back of the shed style roof to collect rain for my potager.  I already have the gutter materials.  I expect to collect something less than 1100 gallons of water on average, per year.  My storage container will hold ~100 gallons of water and be behind the building, about 3 feet above the raised potager beds.  I plan to insert a faucet on the container and use gravity feed and hose to water.

Not exactly free to me water, but as close as I could come up with. I bought the gutter but already had the storage container.  If I should be so lucky to fill that container, I will deal with that too!  Grinning at the gift of water, don’t ya know.

I want to get moving on this and everything else I am doing!  I think I am too slow but when I relax, it is just fun to do each little project.  I even like selecting stones uphill and moving my buckets of gravel and the pathway is getting close to the rabbit gate.  The path in front of this little building is already complete.  The path to the southwest gate is a work in progress.  I enjoy working in the dappled shade under the pines and envisioning a forest shade garden… starting with the Elderberry and Deergrass.  The 2 tiny clumps of Deergrass I transplanted look good.  I also have a Three-Leaf Sumac with a few berries next to the rabbit gate.  I have a larger Sumac by the south gate loaded with berries.  Every year I pick Sumac berries and dry them for teas.  This year I am also going to use my new juicer/distiller for making Sumac berry juice, the birds may have to move over for the berry picker this year.

While I haul rocks and gravel and make orderly pathways to these two gates, I am planning the 10×12 building facade, water collection, removing the gravel from my living room, and berries!  The body is slow but the brain is still ticking.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, design, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Outbuilding and Planning Ahead

  1. jgeerlings says:

    Looks like a potential tiny house.

  2. Jgeerlings
    it is that. I have planned it out on graph paper over and over. Especially because there is 10×10 spot between it and the triangle building 10x9x2x13 made partly with 2×12 and the 13×14 shed is attached to that. I could fix it up easy. Wabi sabi.
    Santa Fe County would never permit it even though they allow market economy junk single wides like mine. We are very regulated in the US and it amounts to slavery to corporate interests, driven by banks that make money.
    I can figure out how to be self-sufficient on a lot of things, but I can’t see how to get out of mortgage hell. The feds are trying to make tiny houses illegal.
    My dad built a country kitchen on our land and we lived in it with an outhouse. He added a bathroom. He added a bedroom. He added 3 bedrooms upstairs and the downstairs bedroom became a playroom. That is almost impossible to do legally in the US anymore. He built it and never had debt. Makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

