Eurasian Collared Dove (Streptopelia decaocto)

I went outside to sit and enjoy the early evening and listened to a nesting call of a Eurasian Collared Dove.  As far as I know, they are new to my food forest.

Because they are not native and are rapidly spreading through the US, they are not protected from hunting and are becoming popular as game birds.  According to the Cornell University distribution map, Eurasian Collared Doves are present but not common in my county.  I love Cornell’s bird site, it includes bird calls.  I have not yet seen flocks of these new invader Doves, but maybe in the future I will have enough population to eat dove.  Mmmmm edible alien invaders in my food forest.

Eurasian Collared Dove are monogamous and share parental duties.  Mom incubates at night and Pops incubates during the day.  They nest in trees and the Pops offers sites and Mom chooses.  At each site he calls coo Coo coo until she decides.  That’s the call I was hearing from the trees on the south side of my trailerstead.

I suspect there will be babies soon.  I doubt I will get a photo unless they get friendly enough to feed on the ground close to me.  They are generally gregarious with townies and might eat out of their hand.  In the country on the other hand, is where they are hunted.  I am generally considered a wimp around here, we’ll see what they think.

Not the only expectant parents today. Ms. Prairie Lizard is preggers for sure.

Prairie Lizard Expecting Babies Soon

Prairie Lizard Expecting Babies Soon

Mama is in front, and ready to deliver.  Papa is on guard duty these days, he keeps challenging me with his push ups.  Note that even a bitty lizard thinks he can boss my giant self.  Wimp.  When Little Guy got a load of that challenge, he jumped flat footed right up on the 24 inch bed.  Yo daddy!  The expectant couple disappeared like magic down into the concrete blocks. That is why I no longer want to cap the blocks, they protect my primo insect eaters from leaping Papillons and birds of prey.  Little Guy might have scared Mama right into labor, though.  Predator.

Always something going on in my food forest.  Eurasian Collared Doves are a new couple in the food forest and I hope a flock gets here soon.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, insect control, invasive species, permaculture, Prepper, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

