Sage (Salvia officinalis)

Like many spices, common Sage has long been an herbal medicine. I have lost 2 Sage plants in this garden, not good. Turns out that Sage may deter insects but it is primo stuff for rabbits.  Let us hope that new raised beds work better.

One good reason to grow Sage for cooking and medicinal purposes is that, like Oregano, Market Economy Sage is routinely adulterated.  Even Essential Oils.  So if you want Sage, grow your own.

I don’t use Sage often in cooking.  I have used an infusion on my hair for both covering the gray and as a nice conditioner.  It works best for dark hair, and my hair was mid tone, but it adds color over time and I did not use it every wash.  Think Grecian Formula for Men from the Market Economy.  Once I moved here, I switched to Yerba de la Negrita, a native plant which grows profusely on my 5 acres and which is widely marketed online.  I like the color, but I like how it encourages my natural curl even more.

Sage has been a medicinal for centuries.  It reduces menopausal symptoms like hot flashes and night sweats, along with adding an estrogen imitator.  It is an excellent digestive aid, especially with heavy, greasy meals, drink a tea with Sage to help digest it.

Sage is an antibacterial, antifungal, antiseptic, and  antiviral against E. coli, Staph, Candida, Salmonella, and more.  With the overuse of Money Market antibacterial creating superbacteria, the herbals still work fine.

Sage in a steam inhaler works on asthma and clears up mucous congestion.  A one cup strong infusion will relieve your headache.

The list goes on and on.  The best is Sage’s ability to improve Alzheimer patients’ cognitive and behavioral function with a Sage tincture.  Not only them, it improves memory, attention, alertness, and mood for anyone after one dose.  This use is best in small amounts over time.  I have been known to add a pinch of Sage to my winter teas, but not lately.  No surviving Sage!  Here’s hoping my new Sage will flourish in its new raised hugelkultur bed.  Although I don’t think I have cognitive issues (would I know?) and it doesn’t seem to run in my family, Sage is back on the winter tea menu.  In its pure, unadulterated form.  Doesn’t hurt to support mental clarity in students and adults as well.

I will need to grow more, but Sage is also a common perfume fixative and used in herb-type, spicy, or masculine perfumes.

  I planted my new sprout today just before it rained a little.  Perhaps it will rain more and give my new Sage plant a chance to develop a good root system to withstand drought.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Bees, Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, medicinal plants, perfume, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sage (Salvia officinalis)

  1. jgeerlings says:

    Sage just suddenly and mysteriously dies on occasion for me. One recommendation was to try it in a container because soil nematodes can consume roots. But I’ve lost some in containers as well. I still have one and I have successfully rooted cuttings. I’ll need to take cuttings again while my last survivor is still looking good.

  2. jgeerlings
    I will take cuttings if mine gets big enough come summer. I have had more sudden deaths here than any other place I’ve gardened, even prickly pear last year when it rained so much. They are looking good this year. Too wet for a true desert garden, no humidity and high winds kills big leaf plants. I transplanted 2 Deergrass along my pathway I’m creating. It will look pretty at least. In the end, of course, I will go with what grows here. I found a new Winter fat baby and transplanted it to my driveway with the others, it rained and it looks okay. Gardening in Seattle was a piece of cake! Gardening in Dallas was a chocolate chip cookie with a few nuts tossed in. Here? The climate rules all. Still, my transplanted Elderberry is budding out and gives me hope. I may be proudest of this garden when it gets going. Both my neighbors are now gardening. Yay!

  3. Helen says:

    How do you make an infusion to condition your hair? I’ve got dark hair and it would be great to hide the grey bits 😊.

    Also, how do you extract the essential oil?

    • Helen,
      Sage would be perfect for your darker hair. Before bed, I boiled water and poured it over a teaspoon or two of dried Sage from my garden. After shampooing in the morning, I towel dried my hair and poured the Sage infusion over my hair and worked it in. Make whatever amount and strength that works best. A friend tried Market Economy Sage and it did not work as well. It is cumulative. I used Rooibos Tea infusion to add a red cast about every 2nd week.
      I use a Navy towel the stain doesn’t show.

    • I have a steam distiller for Sage essential oil. I got it on Amazon for $100. I have seen diy distillers on the internet, but I will use it too much. Do not use aluminum, perod, Aluminum is toxic, one I saw was made with an aluminum pressure canner.
      You can also cover Sage leaves with olive oil or a carrier oil and it isn’t as strong, more volume and can be used for lotions. Takes a few weeks. I like these oils for cooking, or in vinegar for salads. I use dried chili’sIin oil for stir fry.

Leave a Reply

