Venerable Elders, One Seed Juniper (Juniperus monosperma)

All this digging an underground cabin-in-dreaming, but I never mention my two Venerable Elders that are One Seed Junipers and that flank my home site. Even worse, I have not attended to them while digging holes and schlepping rocks around. They are deserving of respect.

One Seed Juniper (Juniperus monosperma)

One Seed Juniper (Juniperus monosperma)

Everything about this Venerable Elder is twisted and gnarled and he is big.  Even the parts I couldn’t fit in the photo are gnarly.

This is the kind of tree that Seattle would poke a tree spirit face on and leave him standing.  Santa Fe might cut him down and use him as a central support for a house, a giant posed between the great room and formal living area.  Or build a courtyard around him to add pseudo age to the hacienda built last year.  Me, I’m going to ground beneath them, like a wild critter.

He is old, though, and has an old buddy living across the way

One Seed Juniper Senior Citizens

One Seed Juniper Venerable Elder

This Venerable Elder stands to the northwest of my cabin-in-dreaming and is about 2 feet across.  His buddy on the southeast corner is a bit larger.  Both are about 20 feet from the edge of the sunken garden/home site.

The locals think these trees are hundreds of years old.  I don’t have a clue.  I sure would not allow anyone to drill through for tree rings, like they do with Bristlecone Pines that are much older.  They have lived through a lot of years, no matter what year they were born.  There are more of these Venerable Elders uphill.

I would like a beautiful piece of One Seed Juniper wood to carve, but I cannot cut one of these Venerable Elders down.  I have hauled a few downed chunks to my shed pending free time and I have a beautiful piece on my back porch.  I picked up a lovely sculpture display pedestal in my wanderings… just for a good piece of carved One Seed Juniper.  The artist in me is quiescent right now, fulfilled by creating a home and designing gardens, but as I get settled in, crafts like carving, painting, quiltmaking, and so on will come back to the fore.  I think about the things I want to create while I am hauling gravel and creating pathways to enhance my home, all under the watch of the Venerable Elders a/k/a One Seed Junipers.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, crafts, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

