Navajo Weaving Loom and Spindle

A Navajo spindle and weaving loom just went on my wish list. They do not take up much space and are easy to make yourself.  Hah… I knew there was something more appropriate than spending thousands of dollars for a market economy loom. This looks like something for my winter projects list.

I especially like that the loom is upright and does not take up a whole room.

I have long wanted to try spinning and weaving, but the equipment is both enormous and cost prohibitive.  I found four easy sets of instructions online just by searching DIY Navajo weaving loom.  That was only the first page or two!  Total cost to build a loom will be under $25.  Imagine that.  Not sure where I will fit this project in, but I will document every step of construction.

The cost of these things put them completely off my radar for several decades.  Amazing the things I can find… the combination of retirement and Internet information is phenomenal.  The best information seems to be from individuals sharing with each other.

I am excited about creating a Navajo style loom and learning to use it.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, crafts, food forest, permaculture, Prepper, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Navajo Weaving Loom and Spindle

  1. Helen says:

    Sounds fun! Great that you should now be able to realise your dream, Rebecca.

  2. Helen,
    And I dredded retirement… why?

  3. cobgoddess says:

    Sounds wonderful. Do you have a picture? I am very much interested to build one myself.
    I agree, the commercial looms are over the top.

  4. Cob goddess, I don’t have a photograph. I have not built it yet. I started looking online because one of my coffee table books on New Mexico had a photograph of a Navajo rug in process. I could see it was a home made loom and very large. That had me looking. They can be made from tree limbs. Anyway, I’ll make the 2×4 version.
    Just knowing what to look for made all the difference.

  5. cobgoddess says:

    Thank you. I guess I will have to do some research myself.
    When I was a child I used to make looms out of my Grandma’s dining room chairs. Now I have a very simple little one. But would love to be able to weave larger pieces. I guess Spider Woman is visiting us both.

  6. Spider is my spirit visitor, been visiting me all my life in dreams. I also have a small loom I made from a picture frame. I used to weave beeds on a tiny loom and create pretty designs. Since I moved to New Mexico I decided spider is Spider Grandmother. I still haven’t built my little house, but it has a place for a Navajo loom. I agree Spider is visiting us both! She gets her way. No matter how many times I “accept” that a spinning wheel and loom are out of my league, it comes back to bug me. I need to get my garden in for next year’s food supply, but that is a joyous thing too. I was so excited about the weaving that I wanted to tell everyone else that it is feasible. Considering all your work on your darling house, a piece of cake for you!

Leave a Reply

