Spring Flowers: German Bearded Iris (Iris germanica)

My free German Bearded Irises are starting to bloom. About a dozen opened since yesterday.

German Bearded Iris

German Bearded Iris

Some, like this one, have 3 blooms together.  I did get these free from one of my customers about a year and a half ago.  I declined when she offered, due to work policy; however, she brought a big box full of them on my day off and personally handed them to my boss for him to give to me.   Amazingly, he passed them on to me.

Turned out to be about 400 of them!  Manna from Heaven.  I had no idea about their color, but gave away about 100 to coworkers and friends.  I planted the rest in my front yard in a curvy line winding 80 feet or so around the trees and crossing the curvy path.  Had more so I encircled a plum tree.  Had more so I made a couple patches, too.  Whew!  I was tired when I finished.

No blooms last year, but they multiplied. There may be 900 of them this year, but who is counting?

What on earth could anyone want with 900 of these pretty flowers?  Should I sell them at the farmer’s market or… start drying the roots each year for a continuous supply of Orris Root Powder and/or Orris Root Butter?

Of course I will make Orris Root!  It is an expensive perfume ingredient and is absolutely easy to make, if you discount the 2 to 5 years it must age to morph into that famous base note of many floral and woodsy perfumes.  So, I already have a year and a half into this project, what’s another 2 to 5?  In the meantime, I am raising wonderful scents to go with it.

To help me start my Scent Quest, I found a website called basenotes that has a lot of information about perfumes.  Best of all, it lists the ingredients of pretty much every perfume ever.  I looked up every scent I have loved, and there is Orris Root as a base note.  It smells like violets with a touch of woodland by itself, but is a good fixative and supporting player for other scents.

Not surprising for a food forest woman, my preferred scents smell of the woods.  No I did not mean Deep Woods Off Pesticide.  More like the wild Pacific ocean and its rain-soaked woods with a hint of wildflowers and spice.  Or in this case, the evening scent of pinyon-juniper forest with complex undertones of sacred datura flowers and yucca blossoms.  Or something.

Who would believe a hick from the sticks like me could yearn to make wines and perfumes?  My son is working on our genealogy and claims I have some French winemakers back in the day.  I think he is making it up to tease me.

Of course, with my daydreams of making perfume, after I bought 5 acres someone would walk up and gift me with 400 Orris Roots in the making, also known as German Bearded Iris.  I went into an absolute spasm of greed and possessiveness!  I visited some this week in a friend’s garden, they were lovely.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, perfume, permaculture, plant uses, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

