Storage for Canning Supplies

I built storage is week. I sufficiency isvely new steam juicer and grabbed a larger pressure canner at the thrift store and had no place to put them. So I unloaded the coat closet by my kitchen and built shelves inside for my big stuff.

Closet conversion

Closet conversion

I used scrap 2×4 and 1×4 I had laying around and added 3 shelves, leaving the original shelf at the top.  I even used my new hand saw to cut everything.  I considered painting inside but passed.

Already filled it up with canning supplies and my new things… plus 100 pounds of wheat berries for fresh bread flour.

Although I don’t plan to stay in my trailerstead, it still has tself-sustaininggardener who cans and preserves food!  Even my dehydrator fit in.

Now… where am I going to store all the food I am growing this year?  Freezer, check.  Canning equipment, check.  Dehydrator, check.  Storage for the food… oops.

The biggest thing for self-sufficiency is how do you preserve and store all the food you grow?  I got out of the habit of long term storage in Texas because I had a 12 month garden and ate most things fresh and in season.  Here, my garden produce will need preservation and stored through 6 months of cold weather.  Hence, the larger canner!

I am searching for storage space for all the good things that come out of my garden.  I just finished digging a hole in my hill for a root cellar, the best possible storage for fruits and vegetables through the winter.  But for now, I will be dehydrating, canning, freezing, and lacto-fermenting… and figuring out the logistics of storage.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in cooking, gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Storage for Canning Supplies

  1. Helen says:

    Yes, the need for storage can be a challenge. That’s something I’m working on, too!

  2. Helen
    I filled it up and now reworking my bedroom closet, what a relief. I have lost a clothing size with so much digging, so pulling all that out too. No rest for the wicked.

Leave a Reply

