Golden Currant is Blooming (Ribes aureum)

Golden Currants are blooming in the mountains!

Golden Currant

Golden Currant

Golden currants have a noticeable small yellow bloom that attracts hummingbirds and have a spicy smell.  Now that I have seen them, I will take care to collect the seeds when fully ripe.  If they haven’t been collected by wildlife first.  Deer, songbirds, and squirrels are among the legion of Golden Currant fans.

Golden Currant Blooming

Golden Currant Blooming

This bush will be loaded with currants this year and I will watch it closely to collect ripe seed before they are gone.

A basic member of a pinyon-juniper ecosystem, Golden Currant has been missing from my 5 acres until I saw one small shrub uphill last fall just as the leaves dropped off; it had one leaf left, and is not leafed out or blooming yet (shaded).  In any event, I would have plenty of these fruiting shrubs in my food forest.  Now if I can locate my native Wolfberry!

The only medicinal uses I found for Golden Currant were for dried and pulverized bark.  It is used as a poultice for sores and leg swellings, including snakebite.  I am good with collecting the berries for pies and jellies… I prefer not to test that snakebite cure.

One nice thing about Golden Currant is that it is a nurse plant for my tiny Pinyon Pines.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, medicinal plants, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

