Drat that Cat!

One of my neighbors has a loose cat… and he is digging in my raised beds as if they are his personal litter boxes. Drat that cat!

So I am implementing Plan A.

I bought powdered hot chili at half off and sprinkled it on 2 beds.  On my blueberry bed I am test driving mulching with pine cones.  Both worked last night. The cat only dug in bed 7 which is unfinished.

Hot chili powder kept out squirrels,  dogs and cats without any other boundaries in my townie garden.  Perhaps it will keep out roving animals here.  In town I did not have to keep it refreshed, word gets around.

Didn’t even try that in Seattle, it rained too much.

Any tricks of the trade?  Let me know.  I will hang bells for the deer.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Drat that Cat!

  1. The active ingredient in most deer sprays is rotten eggs. Works like a charm, even after you can no longer smell it.

    • Dan
      Thank you for visiting and sharing great information! As you are probably aware, deer are the bane of country gardeners.
      I will make up a batch of rotten eggs and spray it around my beds. I appreciate the input.

  2. Bean Counter says:

    I use a mixture of blood meal and black pepper. You can get blood meal very cheaply at most feed stores and home improvement places. I get cheap black pepper in the huge containers at Costco. Empty out 2/3 of the pepper in a zip loc bag for later. Fill the remainder of the pepper container with blood meal. Thoroughly shake to mix, then use the pepper container to distribute mix on ground and plants. The blood meal adds iron and nitrogen. The pepper keeps off bugs, slugs, and varmints. Reapply after rain.

  3. Hi Bean Counter,
    That is a good one, I will mix up a batch. There are no end of critters out here. I even saw a rock squirrel this week.

  4. Debra says:

    Rebecca, in Colorado we used those white plastic grocery bags from stores tied on our fence and landscaping, about tail height for the deer. It mimics their danger signal and appears like another deer “flagging” their tail as a “warning” to other deer. We used to watch the deer come in between the trees hoping to snack on our garden and fruit trees only to tear out of there at high speed across the fields due to the white bags tied there. We had to occasionally move them around the property, as wild (or domestic) animals get used to things and then they are no longer effective. Good luck on the cat though. Can’t help there.

Leave a Reply

