Seeding Sowing, Moss Rose (Portulaca grandiflora)

I seeded Moss Rose around my Rosemary and Lavender plants. I will be happy if they naturalize here, but their wilder cousin Portulaca oleracea is on my endless to buy seed list. I have been hoping for wild ones to show up but no luck so far.  In Dallas I always had Portulaca growing wild, but it never got invasive because I eat it.  It is easy to pull and eat raw in a salad or added to a soup pot.  Mostly I eat it raw or add to a stir fry.  It can be put through a blender for a green drink, and can be added to fruits for a smoothie.

The whole plant is edible and very nutritious, including Omega-3 fatty acids that usually come from fish oil, not plants.  Would that make it a missing link?!!!

As a medicinal, it is used as a depurative (purifier and detoxifier) for liver ailments.  Most people do not realize that juice from Moss Rose stems and leaves soothe stings and burns like Aloe vera.

Moss Rose is commonly sold in garden centers in summer, so it is easy to purchase for your garden.  Let it loose among your vegetables and its shallow root system will not bother anything.  Its high nutrition will add to your diet and is a good “hidden in plain sight” food.  Works well if you cannot grow “vegetables” in your front yard.

For my food forest, Moss Rose attracts butterflies and bees.  In my digging program, I dug up two native bees, and put them back; hopefully they aren’t damaged.  Native bees pollinate more of our plants than honeybees, but have been killed by pesticides over vast miles of farmland.  The main reason honeybees are trucked in is to stand in for all the dead native pollinators.  Farmers are not supposed to dump pesticides during honeybee visits, but do just that.  New Mexico is trying to get us regular folks to help native bees survive on our properties as a crutch to allow farmers to continue dumping poisons without accountability for farmers or Monsanto.  No poisons in my circular food forest, just a silly human digging.  Still, Moss Rose is a good support for my bees and butterflies.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Bees, Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, medicinal plants, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

