Weather Woes

Late winter weather is hard on gardeners! Late freezes after exceptionally warm weather ensures that I will not get a peach crop more often than every few years unless I find a good microclimate for two trees.

Peach

Peach

The snow is already melting even as it continues to snow, it is 34°F right now. No hard freeze, so unlikely that I have serious damage on anything.  Never mind that it will be in the 70s by Wednesday, with nights in the 30s and low 40s this week.

I checked my garden seedlings and all seem okay, everything needed the rain late yesterday and the moisture is more than welcome.

I am glad it rained first, because water ameliorates the effects of a late freeze.  When I lived in South Texas, orange trees were often saved from a frost by a good watering beforehand.  Water requires a lot of energy to shift even one degree in temperature so it stabilizes soil temperatures.  Same thing in stems and foliage, if cells are plump with water they will not freeze with just a few hours hovering around 32°F.

I have enjoyed an early spring and as woeful as it looks, even solid water is appreciated in this high desert.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, fruit trees, gardening, permaculture, Prepper, water and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

