Tied to the Kitchen!

Turkey went on sale and I bought two 12 pounders. I live by myself and am never going to eat a whole turkey! However, I am canning them in one pint jars for soups, stews and such. The first one went down yesterday as 12 pints of meat in broth. Considering my pressure canner only holds 4 pints, it is slow going. Still, for $5 at the thrift store, a bargain. I left a lot in the soup pot and just added the second turkey and more spices. I will probably get another 12 pints or so of meat in broth.

Then the fun begins. I will take the bones out and bake them until they are brown and toss back into the pot, adding onion, garlic, white wine, bay leaves, peppercorns, a few vegetables, and simmer at least 24 hours. When it is really good, I will strain the stuff out and reduce the remaining broth. Then I will can that too. I use no salt at this stage, only when I cook with it later.

When I started peeling garlic, some of the cloves were already sprouting.

20160426_143814

So, incorrigible gardener that I am, I quickly ran outside and planted 5 softneck garlic cloves.  Hard to let a sprout go unplanted.

Back to kitchen duty!  I do not want to leave a pressure canner unattended.  I am also taking kitchen duty as an opportunity to study herbals.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, cooking, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

