Colorful Corn Plants a/k/a Painted IndianCorn

I took my colorful corn plant seedlings out to photograph, and saw that my direct seeded radishes and peas are up.

20160424_120138

I have one white seedling, most are purple and green, and a few are purple.  They are very good looking, even the odd white one.  Some were initially yellow, but those greened up quickly out on the back porch.  This is my trial run for Painted Corn and I hope to get a good crop.  These, of course, were started indoors under grow lights and will be planted in a 24 inch raised bed.  Just before monsoon starts, I will plant dry seed in the ground and see how they do au naturel. If they are like my bolita beans they will do better without coddling!

The wild daylilies behind the painted corn are putting out new leaves and I haven’t lost any of the initial 50.  Still young enough for me to gather a few more leaves for another meal.

20160424_150436

The radishes are up with 2 leaves each and the peas are pushing up through the soil.  I am pleased, so far no supplemental water because I planted right before a couple days of light rain.  I should have carrot seedlings in another week.  Yay!

The bed looks like a lunar landing site after I shoveled some of the lava rock and its clay on top.  Once my peas,  radishes, and carrots are located, I will push the rocks down into the soil to continue their journey to mineral dense clay.

I have other seedlings up inside, cucumbers, squash, pumpkins, melons, tomatillos, tomatoes, peppers, all of which need more warmth. I will start bringing them outside with me during warm afternoons.

Lovage, fennel, dill, wax currants, calendula, all need to stay under grow lights and get a little bigger.

Half the United States is picking tomatoes already and I haven’t had my last frost date yet.  My colorful painted corn plants are getting a head start and I am filling their raised bed with soil.  The weather and bed should come together just in time.  And so it goes!

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Colorful Corn Plants a/k/a Painted IndianCorn

  1. Helen says:

    We can’t plant out our tomatoes and other tender crops either yet, here in Britain. The last risk of frost is another month away. But mine are still tiny seedlings anyway – and I’m waiting for the onions to mature before they go in, so I’m not too frustrated.

    Great your radishes etc are coming through now, though.

Leave a Reply

