Spring Planting, Loran Strawberries (Fragaria x ananassa)

I planted six Loran Strawberries today in my blueberry bed.

Loran Strawberries

Loran Strawberries

The tag suggested I plant these 6 inches apart because they are not as inclined to set runners as many strawberries, and are touted for container growing.  I gave them 8 inches, which seems close.   I bought them at my local box store because I haven’t tried them before.  I also have Quinalt Strawberries and alpine strawberry seeds, which I look forward to trying out.  They need about a month to sprout and I will start them this week.  I just freed up space for more tiny seeds today.

It looks like it might rain a little more, and these have been out on my back porch getting used to outdoors for about 10 days.  The blooms are good down to around 28°F.  I will mulch them tomorrow after the rain.

This is an everbearing day neutral strawberry that blooms from April through October.  I will plant about 30 plants and have strawberries through the season.  If I have a glut, I can always freeze them separately on a cookie sheet and save in plastic bags for later use.  Glut seems contraindicated with the concept of strawberries, but I guess it can happen.  It has never happened in my garden, but it’s a pleasant thought.

I usually purchase flats of strawberries for jam, but plan to buy some June bearing strawberries for that this year since I am getting self-sufficient.  Golly gee darn I might need to build more raised beds for annual vegetables if I get too many perennial fruits and herbs.

I now have 24 painted corn plants on the back porch but will bring them in at night for a while.  These will go into raised bed 7 that mirrors bed 1 a/k/a blueberries/strawberries.  I will also plant seed out right before monsoon to see if that works as well.

Loran strawberries look tempting out there, I sure hope to have strawberries soon.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring Planting, Loran Strawberries (Fragaria x ananassa)

  1. Helen says:

    I’d love a blur of strawberries😉. Last year, I managed about enough for one smoothie…. Great you can get enough to make jam.

  2. Helen says:

    That should read ‘glut’, not ‘blur’. Auto-correct got the better of me then.

  3. Helen, I know! Just a… taste. My first year I was experimenting and everything was a taste! Plus, I have cotton tails everywhere and I didn’t know where I would put my cabin. Now I have it figured out the beds went in without a worry. I sure didn’t want to tear them out. Small gardens need to grow up… like potato towers and trellises. I had a dog run and ran cucumbers, beans, peas, and melons up the chain link. I hung melons from pantyhose. Back in the day!

Leave a Reply

