Daffodils, Imagine That

I was off in a corner of my property and found Daffodils. I was a bit shocked because I planted them right after I bought the property, around November. The first spring they did not come up. I love Daffodils.

20160417_104003

Three springs later, here they are, imagine that!  I planted Purple Asters and Prairie Penstemon in this spot afterward, and they made a pretty show in the summer and through fall.

Daffodils were always blooming on my birthday when I was a kid in Oregon and sentimental me has planted them everywhere I have lived.  A touch of home.  This was the first place I planted them without getting flowers, never mind they would never bloom until May, long past my March birthday.  They are sturdy bulbs… several years underground without a leaf to maintain them.

It is snowing right now even though it will not stick, too warm.  I don’t know if my Daffodils will manage blooms on my crazy New Mexico mountainside, but I may transplant them into my new flowerbeds when they die back.  Then again, they are mimicking my native plants, which do not come up every year.

I had no thought of sustainability or edibility when I planted Daffodils here, just my heart’s desire to see their pretty faces and remember my first home.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daffodils, Imagine That

  1. jgeerlings says:

    I love the way the keep coming back even on old abandoned homesteads.

  2. Jgeerlings
    most of those in Oregon were just that, from old homesteads. The house would be nearly gone and every spring… daffodils. That is why it surprised me that mine did not come up. After all this time, daffodils. I love them.

Leave a Reply

