Nobody Said Snow This Morning

It is snowing… the weather guy said rain.

Before the snow, here is a picture of some of my cabbage plants:

Cabbage patch

Cabbage patch

 

It has been cool and damp, and they look happy enough.  A little snow can’t hurt… right?  Well, it won’t kill them, but it might make them bolt and set seeds.  I have six more starts in the back bedroom just in case.  Then there is always another chance come fall.

As you can see, I wove little cabbage plants around my herbs.  They are small still and cabbage will be harvested begore they fill in my herb bed.  The herbs aren’t even greening up yet.

20160415_111211

My ultra dwarf Asian Pear is just blooming.  I didn’t go uphill to see if my full size Asian Pear is also blooming,  but it bloomed last year.  No pollinator, so I added this little one.  I should have a bit of fruit on this ultra dwarf.  One nice thing about the ultra dwarf trees is a taste of fruit about 3 years before standards get into full production.  I have both and get some benefits from each.  Standard fruit trees have deeper root systems and resist drought.  This one produces faster, but needs supplemental water.

Oregon Grape

Oregon Grape

I got far enough uphill to take a photo of one of the Oregon Grapes I planted two years ago.  It is Mahonia repens and is native to the mountains.  Produces similar fruit to the bigger Oregon Grapes I grew up with in… Oregon.  I like the ripe fruit, but the birds seem to know the second they are ripe and swoop in after them.  If you are serious about making jelly, juice, or wine, you have to net them.  The fruit is high in antioxidants and I am hoping for berries this year.  If so, I will net them and plant every one for a berry grove in the deep shade of these evergreens.  Mahonia repens stays low to the ground and needs protection from hard winds, which is provided by the cement pipe next to it.  Not sure what the guy was planning to do with the pipe, and not sure I am strong enough to pull it out of there, either.  If I think of a good project for it, I might try.

Saw one Puccoon already out and blooming.

Puccoon

Puccoon

It is so small!  Puccoon is a medicinal herb and my first summer here I collected seed from a driveway about 4 miles from here.  Last summer I had quite a few, but didn’t see this little one right in the middle of my pathway.  Dare I attempt a transplant?

Snow stopped and rain is predicted today and tomorrow.  Off to check my tiny painted alpine corn plants.  When they get leaves I will take a photo.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, fruit trees, gardening, medicinal plants, permaculture, Prepper, wild edibles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nobody Said Snow This Morning

  1. Helen says:

    I hope your cabbages don’t bolt!

Leave a Reply

