Raised Bed 7

Raised Bed 7 parallels raised bed 1 and is the same size. The concrete blocks are close to this location, so I completed half of the bed yesterday and I finished today.  The winds kicked up again and it is gusting up to 40 mph.  Tomorrow morning is supposed to be quieter, so maybe I can get a start on filling with deadwood.  Both beds are 2 feet wide, inside dimension.

Raised Beds 7 and 1

Raised Beds 7 and 1

This is where my Three Sisters garden will be planted with dried corn, tepary beans, and pumpkin.

This is the trailerstead back patio and I took the photo from the porch.  Once the cabin is in and the trailerstead removed,  this will be enclosed as a greenhouse.  The two final beds will be 8 feet longer, utilizing the space where the porch is now.

The proposed 2 car garage is right behind me, on the greenhouse north wall and a door will join the 2.

It is great to see the homestead bones start to show.

Today I started 24 Rocky Mountain Corn plant seeds for raised bed 7.  These multicolored seeds are winter storage corn, not summer sweet corn.  I will soak them in lye and turn them into posole.  Next year I want to grow more so I have enough for ground cornmeal.  I have a lot of meal, so only need enough for posole this year, plus seed corn.

The Blue Speckled Tepary Beans will be planted in situ during May, right before the monsoons.

I have already planted the pumpkin seeds in pots as well, and as of this morning they have not yet sprouted.

Still 5 weeks to my last frost date.

Raised bed 7 will be finished in plenty of time for warm season vegetables like corn, beans, and squash.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Raised Bed 7

  1. Bean Counter says:

    Looking great! Bulk calories are where it’s at. 😉

  2. Bulk calories are required to sustain life. We need about 2500 calories per day, on average. I was interested to read that my little corn patch returns 500-600 kernels for each one planted. I might get a huge pile of dry corn! My sweet corn did nothing here, so hoping for the best. I have barley and wheat too. No big field for them. But potatoes every year!

    • Bean Counter says:

      When I have my normal gardens I do a mix of bulk calorie planting (peas, beans, corn, winter squash, etc) with root veggies, tomatoes, greens, etc.

  3. Bean Counter
    I mix it all up, too. I have never grown grains, so I am starting easy with barley, which I eat. Beans and potatoes always. Used to grow sweet corn, this will be my first dry corn. I am glad to have more room to play. I can have all the fruits, too.

Leave a Reply

