awwww Seedlings

My Wax Currant seedlings, a native edible, are my number one pick for the year.

Wax Currant

Wax Currant

They are so tiny, and it looks like most are sprouting.  Now I feel greedy and want all of them instead of just the dozen.  Always amazes me when tiny seeds turn into big shrubs and big pea seeds make a small annual.

Now I just have to get some of these teenie seedlings to shrub size.  I will upgrade them to one gallon pots and keep them inside with careful water control.  They will displace the Goldenrain Trees in the kitchen window that will go outside this year.  The Honey Locust trees spent their first winter outside In pots, and will be planted with the monsoon rains.

The Lovage seeds are up too.

Lovage

Lovage

All six have sprouts.  I like these little starters for tiny seeds, although I usually start bigger seeds in regular pots.  These seem like they have the perfect balance between moisture and air that seeds require.  I tend to use less seed in these.

The Braeburn X Apple trees successfully moved from their 4 inch pot to their 6 inch pot, but all need their own one gallon pots sooner rather than later.  No room!  They can’t go outside except for brief visits in the shade until after last frost.

Braeburn X

Braeburn X

Here are 5 seedlings, originally there were 11, but I pulled 6 out while they were still in their 4 inch pot.  Once the monsoon rains start, I should have them acclimated to outdoors.  My Braeburn X seedlings already have 8 inch tap roots with 2 i

nches of tree showing.  That’s the way trees do best.

 

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, fruit trees, gardening, permaculture, Prepper, wild edibles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

