Spring Planting, Himrod Seedless Grape (Vitis lambrusca)

Today I potted up a Himrod Seedless Grape bought at the local box store. It already has buds and I did not want to leave it bare root any longer than necessary.

I do not have its permanent spot ready! Panic! It will be part of raised bed 7, and I already have the materials for its arbor. The vines were in, and I wanted to choose a better quality one. For now, a large pot.

Himrod is a common table grape, but also makes a good raisin grape.  Grape vines vine are self-fertile and produce 15+ pounds of grapes per year.  Surely enough to make sun dried raisins for my winter larder.   Not to mention fresh grapes… yum.  It is my second grape vine, last year I bought a Flame Seedless Grape, so two varieties should suffice for fresh eating grapes, and raisins.  Of course, I could buy a third variety next year.  I might feel the need to make juice, and jelly, and so on.

Himrod and Flame are both vigorous American varieties, descended from our native Fox Grape.  This is the best grape for my mountain property, since it withstands cold well.  Choose their spot carefully, their root can go as deep as 9 feet and they can live 30 years.

The famous European wine grapes (Vitis vinifera) prefer a milder climate, so I am unlikely to order any.  I will be okay, not to worry.  I will make my fruit wines and not fret about not becoming a great vintner.  Hoochie Mama is all there is.

Himrod Grapes are nutritious and have a good mineral content as well as vitamins.  The grape leaves are a powerhouse nutrition-wise, and are used in folk remedies as well.  They are anti inflammatory, reduce edema, good for your liver, and are low glycemic, too.  Realistically, the nutrient level is so high, grapes qualify as a super food.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Planting, Himrod Seedless Grape (Vitis lambrusca)

  1. jgeerlings says:

    Native grapes are great. And most labrusca varieties root easily from cuttings giving a grower the potential for many more of a good variety. A trellis option that works in dry climates is the old Italian peasant method of growing vines up into fruit trees. Yield is less than with a full sun vine, but it adds diversity and makes use of space.

  2. Jgeerlings
    brilliant!
    I have a dead tree that I want to run a vine on… and had not decided which vine. I will run a grape vine on it. My fruit trees are too little still to support grape vines, but I will start cuttings for them as they grow up.
    Well… the dead tree is about 30 feet from my trailerstead… and 20 feet tall.
    Thank you for the tip, I will work it in… just put it into my notes!

Leave a Reply

