Bill Gates and Monsanto Lose a Round

The US Senate’s version of the DARK Act making GMO labeling illegal did not pass… this time.

Bill Gates and Monsanto lost… this time.

The vote was close even in the face of extreme public pressure: 49 yes and 48 no. Just short of the 60 votes required to pass. Considering that Obama, Clinton and Cruz have all expressed support for Bill Gates and Monsanto and believe Americans should eat GMO and Roundup Ready foods, the battle will continue.

The House has already passed their version of the DARK Act.

Potentially okay news is that Senator Jeff Merkel D-OR submitted S2621 (Biotech Food Labeling Uniformity Act) to set a national standard for clear GMO labeling. Considering Bill Gates and Monsanto’s deep pockets and revolving door with the USDA, my trust of federal standards is worth a pair of deuces against a full house.

Better news is that 70 GMO labeling bills are proposed in 30 states and New Hampshire is expected to vote before April Fools Day.

Best news is that Maine, Connecticut, and Vermont have already passed GMO labeling laws.  Because food distributors use standardized packaging, we will all get the benefit of M/C/V laws.  Not unusual, since California standards are met in all states, for example.

My reality is that our corporate-owned federal government wants to appease Bill Gates and Monsanto Money and is desperate to throw citizens under the bus.  I prefer 50 sets of state laws with 50 possible sets of eyes such that one set might truthfully watch this behemoth and its sponsor Bill Gates.

Note that Monsanto now has 90 percent control over seeds in the United States.  A clear monopoly, and no move has been made to stop it.  Except for my seed saving garden, of course.  😉

Tell me you are a seed saver, too!

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bill Gates and Monsanto Lose a Round

Leave a Reply

