Raspberry Bush, Anne (Rubus argustus)

Picked up a bareroot raspberry bush called Anne. It has a pretty yellow berry, and I picked it up because birds can pass over yellow fruit thinking it is not ripe. This is a variety that I have not grown before. I do not have a bed ready for it, so I potted it up for now.

I have a red raspberry from last year as well… it survived winter, but it has no signs of life yet. I do hope it is good because it gave me RASPBERRIES!!!!!! last year. Lord have mercy I love raspberries. It was my test run and since it’s a go, I will add a raspberry bed.

Raspberries like water,  so their bed will also need to be a hugelkultur bed with plenty of deadwood in the bottom to soak up and hold water.  It also will get a T-shaped trellis to keep the canes upright.

I worked on filling raised bed 4 today,  trying to top it off with soil.  It will settle, of course, and need topped off again before April comes around and I start filling it with root vegetables.  I was eyeballing it for raspberries, because I had a raspberry in my hand, but they will be fine in pots a little longer. Bed 4 is for tomatoes and root vegetables.

I am getting so spoiled with 24 inch raised beds that I want to make more and more of them.  Let me rephrase that:  I want to use more and more of the raised beds.

I added more rocks to bed 6.  It is getting there.  I put 3 bags of compost on top of the deadwood, and can now start filling with soil.  It is larger than all the others, and will take a while to fill.

As a member of the Rosaceae (rose) family, Raspberries have 5 petaled rose type flowers that attract beds and butterflies.

Yellow raspberries are usually sweeter than red.  This one produces berries in late summer, and the red one in summer.  Perfect.  One awesome fact about raspberries is that they multiply and more canes means more raspberries.  I am glad I got it in a pot, when I opened the package it had 2 sprouts shooting off the parent.  More canes.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Bees, Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

