Signs of Life in a Warm Spring

It has been unusually warm this spring, I have signs of green life from my I plants. The prediction is unusual warmth through May. We’ll see. Some of my plants are way ahead of themselves.

Elberta Peach blossoms

Elberta Peach blossoms

This ultra dwarf peach tree is way ahead of itself, and is covered with blooms.  Unfortunately, my companion peach is not blooming, it is merely a seed grown peach, and  not old enough. I will not likely get peaches unless I go into town and drag home another ultra dwarf peach variety. Might be nice to have two.

Behind the trees, you see to the northwest of the valley and my problematic dropoff to the driveway.

Miracles happen, though.  My three Elderberries designated as windbreak food plants survived the winter, but had a bit of twig die off during my recent dry windstorms.  Still alive though, a first for this difficult spot.

Elderberry base leaves

Elderberry base leaves

Barely at the bottom of this Elderberry are a few green leaves.  It is still going down to the low 30s at night.  If I get a real storm, it will burn some new growth back.  I have a plum tree that froze back last year and failed to leaf out at all.  It Iis still flexible, who knows if it will make this spring.

Shrubbery Cinque foil leafing out

Shrubby Cinquefoil leafing out

The Cinquefoil on the sunny end of my herb garden has a tiny bit of green.  This is a sturdy plant and would not likely be distressed by a spring freeze.

If I do have a bad freeze, I will protect the Elberta Peach, since it is mobile in a pot.  I can run it into my shed for a day or two if need be.

I lopped some of the deadwood in raised bed 6, it moves forward.

Raised Bed 6

Raised Bed 6

I keep adding small deadwood, this bed is open underneath, and will be about 12 inches deep.  It is now ready for compost and soil, and my ditch lilies are ready for their home.

I dug and moved more buckets of soil.  The raised herb bed is filling up.

I started seeds for Collard greens today.  I saw some starts in the market economy, and would have been tempted, but they were hybrids.

A beautiful day, much enjoyed, with signs of life all around.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

