Herbs, German Thyme (Thymus vulgaris)

Transferred my kitchen pot of German Thyme to the raised herb bed. This is my only thyme plant for this garden because it is one of the most cold hardy. Sadly, lemon thyme is not cold hardy enough.  Even so, I always have Winter Thyme in my garden for its unique cooking flavor and it’s superior medicinal value.

Like many herbs from the Mediterranean, thyme prefers full sun, good drainage, and alkaline soil. I have all of the above.

Thyme is essential for cooking, and is good on meats, eggs, cheese dishes, mushrooms, soups, and stews.  For meat, try putting your spices into the spice grinder and rubbing them into the meat and hour to a day before cooking.  Thyme mixes well with peppercorns, rosemary, and fennel.  Or as in the song: parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme (add white peppercorns and Himalayan salt to this one).

Of course, you can buy ground herbs in the market economy, with a good dose of sand in it, approved by federal regulatory agencies for “flow”.  I prefer to add salt for flow, but keep my spices in leaf form and grind at the last minute.  Maintains quality much longer.  Small spice grinders are available and easy to use.

I also like the flowers in salad and sprinkled over stir-fry before serving. The flowers are a little more delicate in flavor, with a touch of sweet. I also add dried thyme to some of my winter tea mixes, but use dried flowers so long as they last.

German Thyme is a common herbal medicinal with many uses. To make new plants, hold a stem down on the soil with a rock. It will root, and can be cut from the parent. Bring the little one inside for your kitchen garden, or plant out in the garden.

Thyme repels cabbage root fly, so add to your cabbage patch. On the other hand, it attracts honey bees and butterflies.

I may get a lemon thyme potted up this summer and bring it in before winter hits. They are only about 1’x1′ and will scent my house next winter, and add to winter bland menus.

Thyme essential oils are used in perfumes, soaps, toothpaste,  mouthwash and potpourris.  One little plant is not enough for all the things thyme will do.  In Dallas I kept various types of thyme, and used them all.

I readily admit that I do not cut my herbs down before they bloom.   I love the blooms and the bees and butterflies add greatly to my enjoyment of my garden.  I eat the flowers too… they add another layer of flavor.

A favorite salad dressing, in fact, includes dried flowers from my herbs, in equal parts, a pinch of salt, mixed into white wine vinegar and light olive oil.

As I fill my raised herb bed, I am leaving room for a half dozen cabbages.  I find cabbages hard to grow without herbal and hummingbird protection.

Thyme earns it’s space in

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Bees, Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, insect control, medicinal plants, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

