Herbs, Pineapple Sage (Salvia elegans)

Pineapple Sage is my best loved sage, even though I love them all.  It is a small shrub usually about 3’x3′, but I had a 4 foot glory in a protected southern spot in Dallas.

I love its red blooms in my garden and it is good in a flower bed. It is important for its late blooms to attract and feed hummingbirds that might be migrating late.

My small Pineapple Sage from last year came inside to my south kitchen window for wintering over, and tried its best to bloom. I didn’t help matters by plucking fresh leaves off to add to my tea.  Although a bit bare, it made it through my zone 5 winter even though it is only hardy to zone 8.  I will mulch it next winter and hope for the best… but will take a cutting to winter over, next time in my indoor garden in the back bedroom.  A 3 foot shrub is too much for my kitchen window!  Dreaming a greenhouse….

Yesterday I planted my Pineapple Sage smack in the middle of the herb bed.  Just in time for 4 hours of snow today with no advance notice from the weather report. 58°F and cloudy does not presage snow in my book.

I enjoy Pineapple Sage leaves, they go well in salads, especially with a raspberry vinaigrette.   They are good added to ice teas, hot teas, stir-fry, fruit salads.  Fresh or dried leaves taste good in pork and chicken dishes, too.  It is a good flavoring.

Unlike Culinary Sage, Pineapple Sage is not a medicinal plant.  When I see bees and butterflies and hummingbirds flock to it, somehow I just don’t mind.  I saw a Mourning Cloak butterfly again yesterday, he saw me planting.  I hope he made it through hours of snow today.

If deer decimate your flowerbeds, try Salvia elegans, they don’t like it as much as other shrubs. If you have woods nearby, plant something out there just for deer.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Bees, Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

