Herbs, Greek Oregano (Origanum vulgare hirtum)

Greek Oregano is more strongly flavored than standard Oregano. I planted my kitchen Oregano in the raised herb bed today. As I fill around each herb, the bed is filling with its final soil layer.

Commercial Oregano is rarely Oregano, and may be one or a mix of over 40 plants. I grow my Oregano and dry enough for the following year. Since I use Oregano often in cooking, I dry a lot. I kept this indoors all winter, and it’s strong scent helped keep my kitchen and house smelling wonderful all winter. It didn’t stay pretty, though, because I picked off too many leaves.

In any event, it was put in the raised herb bed just in time for my snowstorm yesterday. Looked fine today, but is hardy to zone 4. Like most herbs, Greek Oregano is easy to grow. About the only thing bad will be letting it sit in water too long. I grew a monster Oregano in Washington on daily rain, but it was raised and drained well. It was not as strongly flavored because it was overwatered. Still, it bloomed like crazy and attracted bees and butterflies. For maximum leaf production, harvest right before it blooms, and repeat several times a season… or plant several.  Since it blooms from July through September,  add one to your flower beds.

For maximum essential oils, keep it in full sun and a little dry. This is best if you want the maximum effect from its medicinal properties. We are so accustomed to pharmaceutical companies, we forget how many of our herbs were used as medicinals for centuries, and which are the basis for many corporate drugs.

In the garden, Greek Oregano is an ant repellant. In Texas I liked planting Oregano along the foundation to keep ants and other insects out. Plus, Greek Oregano likes the alkaline soil next to concrete, which some other plants cannot tolerate.

Oregano is especially helpful to cucumbers as an insect repellant and they companion well.

If you like to cook, or even just pop a pizza in, true Greek Oregano is a marvelous surprise.  It beats market economy pseudo-Oregano every time.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Bees, Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, insect control, medicinal plants, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Herbs, Greek Oregano (Origanum vulgare hirtum)

  1. Helen says:

    When I lived in Greece, I loved oregano flavoured crisps (potato chips).

    I like the idea of oregano next to the cucumber. I’ll try that out – but better sow the cucumbers first 😉

  2. Helen
    I have to unwind the cucumber from around the Oregano once in a while, they can hug it to death! Planting herbs in and around the vegetable garden is awesome to help with insect control, they encourage beneficial too.
    I might have to try making Oregano crisps since they are not for sale in these parts. I have an oven recipe for crisps, do you think that would work?

Leave a Reply

