Herbs, Garden Sage (Salvia officinalis)

Today I added Garden or Culinary Sage to raised bed 5, my herb garden. I kept it in a pot indoors all winter for the fragrance and for cooking.  Sage is excellent for digestion, and when I have fresh leaves I nibble some to cure my stomach upsets.  A tea made from dried sage or a sage blend works well.  I also use dried sage to make a tea for a hair rinse, to tone my auburn hair down.

I love scented plants indoors in the winter. This one will stay in its new digs next winter, it is cold hardy and should like the sunny location.  I expect it will get full size this summer, and I will be able to dry plenty of sage for winter use.  Next fall I will take a cutting from this plant to bring indoors. Sage dislikes too much water, so don’t keep a cutting too damp.

Sage is a standard cooking herb best known in the US for its use in turkey dressing at Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Otherwise, I make an approximation of Red Lobster biscuits with sage and grated cheddar.  It is also good in eggs, vetetables, beans, sausages, and tomato sauces.

My herb garden in the potager now has its own Culinary Sage.  Sage is also a traditional herbal medicine plant, and it has a long list of medicinal uses.

Apart from culinary and medicinal uses, Sage is a lovely addition to vegetable beds, where it repels insects and is good grown with cabbages and carrots.  I will have extra space this year, until my herbs grow and fill in, so I’ll pop three cabbages around the sage.

Sage attracts butterflies and bees.  I have tucked sage plants in flower gardens, wherever there is full sun and good drainage.  In a small garden, put it in the front flower beds with its showy blue bloom spikes.

Another use that I have not tried yet is as a perfume fixative.  As my garden fills with flowers and scents, I would like to create perfumes.  I love woodsy and spicy scents.

I cut back the “indoor” leaves today and Sage will now grow it’s outdoor leaves.  As a culinary and medicinal plant, its 2’x2′ spot in my raised potager.  Its blue blooms and gray green medium leaves will go well with the yellow Potentilla, and upright spikes show well against the yellow and fine-leaved green mounds.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Bees, Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, plant uses, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Herbs, Garden Sage (Salvia officinalis)

  1. Helen says:

    I must get some more sage this year as my last plant die. Thanks for the reminder – and good to know it repels insects.

  2. It will like your new sunnier spot. They are good planted in with cabbages.

Leave a Reply

