Can You Grow Potatoes From Peelings?

I read that you can grow potatoes from potato peelings, so long as you leave an eye. My last 2 Russet Potatoes had sprouts on them so I decided to peel them with a knife, carefully, to preserve the eyes.

I let them dry a couple hours, then laid them peeled side down on soil. They need to dry more so they are uncovered.

I just laid the peelings on the compost with about an inch of soil.  I will put plain compost material on top, and have grown seed potatoes on top of compost piles successfully.

I hope this works, because it increases your crop if you can use peelings and still eat the potato.

Never mind I may have snow tonight and this is at least a month early for potato planting here!

Three things may (or may not) work in my favor here.  One, we are expecting warm weather through my last frost date.  Two, a raised bed is a great season extender, and it has been warm for a week, temperatures up to 70°F, and this raised bed receives heat from the trailerstead.  Three, a fresh hugelkultur bed is warm and heat rises from a hot hugelkultur compost.  It is another great season extender.

When I dug soil today, I dug an area where I buried deadwood a year ago.  It was mostly smaller wood that I cleaned up around the house.  All the dry wildflowers were composted, as were the twigs.  All that was left were the medium tree limbs.  Medium for bitty pinyon trees.  They were pretty small with a lot of mycelia.  Yay!  Even better the soil was much richer.   I tossed them into raised bed 6.  It will shoot through the bed and speed composting of the deadwood in the bottom.

Let me know if you have grown potatoes from peelings!  It is worth a try.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Can You Grow Potatoes From Peelings?

  1. cobgoddess says:

    Not really but i had tiny eyed left overs that took of in the compost.
    I wouldn’t be surprised if they do.

  2. Cobgoddess… I have too but forgot all about it! It is why I started putting seed potatoes in the compost several decades ago. Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Can You Grow Potatoes From Peelings? | treeseeddreaming – WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  4. Helen says:

    Yes, I have grown potatoes from peelings. Mostly unintentionally but I did get a small crop from my finishing off compost bin. I hope you have success with yours, Rebecca.

  5. Helen, thanks! I’ll wait till next month to plant seed potatoes, but we’ll see how planting so early affects them.

  6. Steve says:

    So can you, or can’t you?

    • Hi Steve,
      I put a question on it because I have not personally done so. I read online that it works, but after two days I don’t have personal results yet. Two people I have confidence in responded to my query saying that they have successfully grown potato plants from peelings. My first attempt, so we’ll have to wait and see. I will post photos when they come up. In April I will plant seed potatoes and expect a full crop, since they have cropped successfully in this location 3 years in a row.

  7. Jack Tydeman says:

    Mulch the potato patch with 3 to 4 inches of straw to keep weeds down. Pull out any weeds that appear. Weeds harm the young potato plants by competing for available water and nutrients.

    • Hi Jack
      Thank you for replying. I need to mulch raised bed 1 with blueberries and raised bed 2 with blackberries, too. I’ve been digging and moving soil and rocks and got behind the 8 ball on mulching. I look forward to fresh potatoes!

Leave a Reply

