Seed Starting, d’Anjou Pear (Pyrus communis)



Last month I started two gallons of pear-orange wine using fresh d’Anjou Pears.  In addition to baking bread with the lees, I put some seeds aside in the refrigerator.  Yesterday I potted the seeds up and today I have a seedling.

Oops, I have a lot of seedlings and I have no idea what they are.  Nevermind, the pear seeds are still in there.

D’Anjou Pears are partially self-pollinating, but bear more fruit if they have a different pollinator.  The three trees that are commonly used are Bartlett, Beurre Bosc, and Starking Delicious.  One of these three varieties is probably the daddy to mine.

I planted a Bartlett Pear last year, so my guess is that they will cross pollinate.  My pear trees are on a flattish spot just above my house level, and I will plant any seedlings starting there and going uphill, trying to keep them within 40 feet or so for pollination.

One nice thing about pears is that they are likely to have decendants that produce good fruit.  It will take at least 4 years to produce fruit.

Hood River County, Oregon is the world’s leading d’Anjou pear producer, and not far from where I was born.  Corvallis, Oregon is home to the National Germplasm Repository.  They have about 2000 varieties of pears.

I will make delicate pear wine, but also use pear in combination with other good flavors for more complex wines.  Since I am no expert, with no pressure at all, my home hooch can look like any experimental flavors I want to try! Fruit wines taste good to me.

Don’t forget the delicious pear butter, syrup, canned pear halves, and exquisite desserts.  A ripe pear straight from the tree and not stone hard from the market economy… mm mm good.

Few Americans have tasted home grown food.  Once you have, corporate food designed for shipping rather than eating just will not do.  I look forward to finding new varieties to add, but each of my seeds will produce different fruit.  It’s a start!

I am not the only one in the Food Forest that likes pears.  Bear and deer certainly do, as well as all the other mammals.  Birds, bees and butterflies like pear too.  Growing from seed means that I can have as many as I want, no extra charge.

 

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Bees, Circular Economy, food forest, fruit trees, gardening, permaculture, Prepper, wildlife, wine/cider and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seed Starting, d’Anjou Pear (Pyrus communis)

  1. cobgoddess says:

    I LOVE PEAR TREES. I have some . They are way past their production time but they are still bearing fruit. Soon we are looking to replace them with younger ones. And again the challenge is to find none GMO trees.Please let me know if you know of any source.

  2. My preference is Raintree Nursery in the Pacific Northwest. They never go GO and their trees are beautiful. I have ordered from them for decades. Fruit trees last a long time if not forced like in commercial enterprises. They have a natural rest cycle so produce less some years. Same with nut trees. If you plant organic pear seeds, they will not be GMO. I worry over everything I buy now.

  3. cobgoddess says:

    Thank you . I will look them up.
    True , now we have to be careful with everything we bring in the garden.

Leave a Reply

