Warm Temperatures and a Butterfly

Most of the US is having unusually warm temperatures for this time of year. It is supposed to last through May, when I have my last frost date.

It surely has felt like spring this week, up in the 60s during the days and upper 30s at night. This morning I got a start on row 3 of raised bed 5. The Neverending story! I also found a good cornerstone for my raised stone bed and put it in place. Figured I better grab it when I saw it. Brought it over with my favorite tool, a small collapsible utility dolly. I use it a lot.

I saw my first butterfly this year, a Mourning Cloak (Nymphalis antiopa).  Beautiful thing, black with yellow edging.  I don’t have any of its host plants, but it flew right past me anyway.  It is native here and to much of the US.  Common and large, it flies like a swallowtail and until I saw it better, I thought it was one.

I am enjoying the warmth and turned my heat off for the past two days.  My solar window heaters are handling keeping the house warm with no energy cost.  It will be nice on my budget if that continues.  It might average out nicely since I have had high heating costs for two months.

Warmth and butterflies!  I’ll be shocked when I get more snow.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Warm Temperatures and a Butterfly

  1. Helen says:

    Hopefully you won’t get anymore snow!

  2. Helen,
    I kid you not, we had no facility to handle 3 and a half feet of snow at one time! 0 I hope it means I can get a couple melons this year.

Leave a Reply

