Spring Planting, Parsley Plus

This spring, I will also plant Parsley Plus (Petroselinum crispum var. tuberosum) also known as Hamburg Rooted Parsley. Parsley leaves are intense nutrient accumulators and a half cup is a serious overdose of Vitamin K. Not that we eat that much parsley.

Few Americans are familiar with parsley plants that are mainly grown for their roots unless their heritage is eastern or southern European. Europeams use the root in soups and stews. With my love of soups and stews in the winter, this is a natural for me. Grow plenty and it will provide you with nutrient dense parsley greens also.

I never gave much garden space to parsley, I preferred cilantro for my Mexican dishes, and recently bought my local store completely out of cilantro seeds for its chelation abilities.  Parsley “Plus” is a much better bargain for garden space than leaf parsley with a delicious and easy to store root.

Plus has an added wildlife benefit in that these are a swallowtail butterfly host plants. Don’t despair for your whole crop… just gently transfer the caterpillars to one or two plants and learn to share.  Or plant a couple in your wildflower garden and transfer the caterpillars over there if you don’t enjoy watching them noshing in your vegetable beds.  I love watching them so I keep them close.  They aren’t shy if you aren’t a bird.  If you love butterflies, host plants will bring them in.

Letting a few go to seed attracts Goldfinches.  Hmmmmm maybe I should have ordered more.  In any event, I will collect seed for an enlarged crop next year and see if I can naturalize these in the Food Forest and anyplace else my Goldfinches fly.  Although Goldfinches are not endangered as a whole, there are areas where they are no longer seen.  Feel free to let an area of your garden go to seed to feed birds who stick around all winter in your area.

I have been letting my wildflower garden stand without cutting during the winter for my little seed eaters.  That keeps birds active close to my windows all winter long and they donate fertilizer in exchange for the seed treats.  The fertilizer donations sometimes include seeds as well, and can bring me varieties that I didn’t collect myself.  The wildflowers are all collapsing down now and composting for improved soil this spring.  A circular economy enriches its soil.

Hamburg Rooted Parsley is a special addition to your garden since it gives both high nutrient greens and a nutritious bulk calorie good for winter.  An heirloom seed, it is easy to buy once and have forever.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in insect control, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Planting, Parsley Plus

  1. Helen says:

    Does the Hamburg parsley like full sun or will it tolerate shade?

  2. Hi Helen
    Like most root vegetables it will tolerate some shade. Since you have more shade every year, you can do well with greens and root vegetables. Woodland fruits like blueberries, huckleberries, currants, etc. Should produce well and they are used to tree roots. The tropical sun and heat lovers, less so. I can give them sun but my cold nights are not so good for them. Until I have a greenhouse, I will focus most on what grows best here. Asparagus should do well for you… and fresh is ambrosia, frozen and canned barely edible. I won’t eat it unless fresh. Think woodland berries, greens, and roots. Yum.
    Shade in one locality is a lot different than shade in another. Last year I produced tomatoes with 3 hours of morning sun. I get fierce high altitude sun. In Texas heat and sun I could happily grow northeastern full sun plants in dappled shade.

  3. Bean Counter says:

    So what does the root taste like?

    • Bean Counter
      to me it tastes a little like celery with a little parsley. I like the texture better than cooked celery though, more like cooked turnip. It enriches soup broth a lot. I like using it in my home made beef broth, too. I have never tried this variety, but did not save seed before. Too much fun shopping seed catalogs thinking I could try every exotic thing. Monsanto is nixing that! And trying to grow everything you eat during a year is a bit different than going for unusual things for variety. It is the fun part of gardening, trying different things. I like eating wild foods for the same reason, the different flavors.

Leave a Reply

