Spring Planting, Cabbage Turnip

This spring I will plant an ancient northern Italian variety of cabbage turnip called Giant Red Tarantino. It has been grown for 2000 years and is Brassica oleraceae.

It likes full sun, and is a creamy yellow root that can be used in lieu of potatoes for those who cannot tolerate solanin, or who are diabetic. It also has edible cabbage-type leaves.  My location likes root vegetables and I am having fun picking out a few unusual varieties to expand my taste bud sensations.

This ancient root vegetable is a great candidate for seed saving.

I have always loved growing things that are not readily available at Walmart, or even Smith’s. Modern supply lines are amazing in their own way, wasteful certainly, but more dreadful than either: they are boring.  In lockstep with boring walks nutrient deficiencies.  I imagine that our desire to eat a variety of foods historically kept us healthy.

The Brassicas are nutricious and anticancer too.  Any way to eat them in a new, exciting way is good.

Giant Red Trentino is creamy yellow inside and delicious cooked in place of potatoes.  It can be eeaten raw like kohlrabi.  I grew up eating root vegetables and look forward to this one.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Planting, Cabbage Turnip

  1. Bean Counter says:

    Love me some root veggies. I like turnips, parsnips,etc. They grow pretty well in the pnw.

  2. Bean Counter

    The Pacific Northwest is where I grew up and where I learned to love II ooh vegetables. My mom grew plenty of them, they get big and smooth. I eat them all raw, too. Yum. I have wild Salsify here, naturalized. I got seeds to spread around but did not save in an envelope, darn.

    I don’t have much in full sun, but root vegetables will do.

Leave a Reply

