Raised Beds 3 and 4

I filled raised beds 3 and 4 today because it it supposed to rain and snow for the next two days. The moisture will get the composting started.

Bed 3 First Layer

Bed 4 First Layer

As you can see, the bottom layer is getting larger pieces of deadwood, as have all 4 raised beds.  Any amount will do.  I stopped here to push leaves and compost underneath the raised portions.  I added more wood before moving to the second layer.

Raised Bed 4 compost added

Raised Bed 4 compost added

I covered the base wood with 6 bags of fresh, dry compost.

Raised Bed 4 initial complete

Raised Bed 4 initial complete

To complete my initial fill, I put a couple pieces of dead sod I got free last year from a nursery.  It is high in clay, a good addition to each bed.  Clay holds water and has minerals and nutrients for the plants.  These layers will compact down to about 12 inches, and the clay will dissolve into the bottom foot.  After it rains and snows over the next two days, and these layers are moist, I will shovel my soil in to cover and hold the moisture in.

Bed 3 final compost layer

Raised Bed 3 final compost layer

The extra 3 bags of compost went on top of the smaller wood pieces in raised bed 3.  After this round of rain and snow, I will add sod pieces with more clay, and fill with my native soil.  It will be plantable with annuals by May, and twice as rich next year when I top them off and add a few perennials.

These are not rules for composting, they just show me using what I have available to create rich raised beds.  Add any composting materials to a new bed and it will improve your soil.

I am pleased raised beds 3 and 4 are another step forward and hope I get

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

