Bartlett Pear-Orange Wine

Today I am making Bartlett Pear-Orange Wine. I won’t be growing oranges, of course, but bought a box of them at Costco this week and decided to add orange to my Bartlett Pears (I planted a Bartlett Pear tree last summer) to make a more complex wine.

Instead of using 3 pounds of pears like I did with my D’Anjou Pear Wine, I will use 4 pounds of Bartlett Pears. For the orange, a couple navel oranges plus their peel as fresh orange zest. I allowed the pears to ripen until they are quite fragrant and sweet smelling.

Pear-Orange Wine

4 pounds Bartlett Pears, fully ripened

6 cups pure cane sugar

zest and juice from one navel orange

Nonchlorinated water to make 2 gallons

1/2 packet proofed yeast

Into a 2 gallon fermenting jar, cut 4 pounds of pears into small chunks, removing the cores and stems.  Set aside seeds to dry for 3 days, then plant for new pear trees.  Mash pears thoroughly with a plastic or wood masher.  Add 2 quarts of water.  Stir.

Dissolve 6 cups of pure cane sugar (unmarked sugar is made from GMO beets) in two quarts of hot water.  Add to pear mix.

Clean orange thoroughly, then zest into small pan of water.  If you don’t have a zester, you can use a vegetable parer, but take care not to include the white portion as it can be quite bitter.  Simmer for several minutes. Pour liquid through a doubled layer of boiled cheesecloth into the glass jar.

Proof 1/2 packet of yeast in water with 1 tablespoon of sugar.  Add to fruit mixture in glass jar.

Cover and allow to ferment at 60-70°F for 2-3 weeks or until fermentation slows.  Stir every few days.  Rack.  Let ferment another week or until it reaches desired alcohol content.  Stop fermentation.  Rack.  Allow a month for solids to settle, rack again.  Bottle.

I can’t wait to see how this turns out.  Each wine is an adventure.  My climate may not be perfect for wine grapes, but I can grow fruit and have delicious fruit wines, brandies, and even eau d’vie.  Wines are an amazing food preservation tool, keeping both bulk calories and phytonutrients preserved for years.  Drink in moderation; like most things, too much alcohol has a down side.

I racked my Cranberry Wine this morning.  Nice flavor.

I hope a bit of orange complements and adds complexity to my Bartlett Pear- Orange wine.  Bartlett Pears are a preferred fruit for Eau d’Vie in Europe.  When my fruit trees are producing abundantly, I will also distill Eau d’Vie.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in fruit trees, permaculture, plant uses, Prepper, wine/cider and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bartlett Pear-Orange Wine

  1. jgeerlings says:

    I have made a wine with pears and oranges that turned out nice. I found the recipe at Jack Keller’s website. Its called cooking pear wine and my Kieffer pears were just right for it. I have also attended a winemaker’s conference where Jack spoke. He likely knows more than anyone alive about native American grapes (especially of Texas). He might even have grape recommendations for your area.

  2. Jgeerlings
    nice, I thought I made it up! I should know there is little new under the sun, especially around winemaking. I’m not the first to cook or make wine with what’s available.
    I will check Jack Keller out. Did you post yours? Mine is still in its first day… plenty of time to add something.

  3. jgeerlings says:

    I don’t think I posted a recipe, just followed his. I’ve done it the last four years. The first two the wine had a nice fruit flavor. The third year, I left it too long on the lees before racking and the fruit flavor isn’t as nice. The fourth year is in process and I’ll know better in late spring or summer how it turns out. Its best after aging at least 9 months.

  4. Jgeerlings
    oh no! Now I have to look up lees…
    I will add age 9 months to my recipe.

Leave a Reply

