Indoor Garden

Just finished painting my back bedroom for the indoor garden. I bought the first shelving unit and put it up, although I only have onion and garlic chives in there. They have shot up since they’ve been in there, so all is good so far.

I removed the curtain from the single west window in there for maximum natural daylight.

This week I found a good artificial light source and bought all three on the shelf.  Our stores here in Albuquerque have dramatically reduced inventory and are out of items for weeks.  I hope these lights come in again soon, because I will want to start seeds soon.  Yay!  No seed starting in the kitchen window!  This project is worth the trouble for that reason alone.

Since I finished painting yesterday, I zipped into Albuquerque this afternoon to buy the next two shelving units.  Remembering that I purchased the only one on the shelf, I was hoping they would have reordered at least one in the size and color I needed.  Nope.  I went to another store to do the rest of my shopping for this week.  I may have to order online for store pickup to avoid shipping charges on the ~60 pound items.

Darn!  I am not yet used to our just-in-time inventory system turning into the just-wait-a-month system.  The Baltic Shipping Index has fallen below its historic lows… merchandise is just not coming in.

Even though I hit a little snaggle on parts, I will get er done.  I am excited about my new indoor garden!

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in gardening, greenhouse, home, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Indoor Garden

  1. Bean Counter says:

    What other things are you going to start in your grow room?

    • Bean Counter,
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Number one will be seed starting flats for my enlarged garden. Spring is in May here, so that will be in March.
      Mostly what is in my kitchen window. New ginger plants, 8 and counting all tree seedlings, pear tree seedlings, Greek Oregano, Chocolate Mint, Pineapple Sage, Honey Locust seedlings, Common Sage, A Native Oregon Grape from seed, 4 Golden Chain Trees from seed, wild violet greens, lemon thyme. It is a regular overwhelm in my 10 ft kitchen window and living room windows. I might move my dragon cactus too, they aren’t happy. I have baby spider plants I started this winter from the mama in cute ceramic pots about to move to the kitchen

      • I’ll leave my aloe for burns in the kitchen window too.

      • Bean Counter says:

        Sweet! I like to get strawberry pots and put various herbs in them. When stuck for a wedding, housewarming or birthday present or hostess gift I throw several herb plants in a strawberry pot and give that. They are always a HUGE hit especially for people who like fragrant plants but have limited space.

  2. Bean Counter
    Strawberry pots are lovely full of plants. Used to start African Violets in cute ceramic pots and give them to coworkers… we had them blooming on the whole floor. I give away fruit tree seedlings. I also give away little blooming seedlings like Redbuds and Golden Chain Trees. Back in the day when I had over 100 house plants multiplying… I potted up a couple in a pot together with a bow for formal gifts. They are always pretty. Plant gifts are the best kind of gifts! A friend of mine has quite a collection of orchids, have you tried them? I haven’t… yet.

  3. I love beautiful flowers and have always mixed them into my beds with vegetables. The herbs are very pretty and bloom nicely. But the easiest flowers are bulbs. You have acidic soil so who could resist Azaleas and Rhododendrons? A couple beautiful Japanese maples would be completely at home there. Just standard stuff and drop dead beautiful. I grew azaleas in Dallas… had to build a special curved bed for them. Cars would drive past and take photos when they were in bloom. I had tall blue irises behind them. It was very pretty. Your part of the country has most of the beautiful gardens featured in magazines.

    I would want some of the lovely wildflowers.

Leave a Reply

