Herbals: Wild Lettuce, Lactuca sp.

Although I am not an herbal practitioner,  I have several herbal books.  Medicinal plants have fallen out of use in our society; however, due to their untold value to human beings, I accumulate as many of the medicinal plants as I can.

Two summers ago when I was working like crazy because we were shorthanded, there were several wild lettuce plants growing through the cracks in our parking lot.  I didn’t look at them too closely, knowing they are Lactuca was enough for me to collect some seed, so I kept watch for blooms and seeds as I rushed past every day. These little wraiths were about 12 inches tall.

One day as I sailed past, I saw the seeds ready to blow away like dandelion puffs (Asteraceae family) and circled back to grab them. I did not take a closer look to see just what I had in my hand. As I left work that night, one of the guys had run the area with a weed eater and they were gone!

Rushing home with seed in hand, I tossed them into the Amaranth patch since they like similar conditions.

Last summer I had torrents of rain and we were still crazy shorthanded at work, so when those bad boys got over 6 feet tall I was shocked… in New Mexico?  Still didn’t get to their corner for ID because I was also wearing myself out moving 5 tons of concrete block off the pallets and stacking them for temporary skirting for my trailerstead, and for my future small house.

I am ashamed to admit that I still don’t know which Lactuca species I have.  An old gal can only do so much.

In any event, I am glad it is here.  Wild lettuce is a powerful medicinal that was once used much like opium.  Even after Western doctors starting using highly addictive opium, they still used Wild Lettuce occasionally.  It is not addictive and I value it as a potent medicinal.

I am not an herbal practitioner, and don’t use any of the medicinals that I grow.  I like knowing they are there.  A serious pain reliever like Wild Lettuce, whichever Lactuca species it is, gives me comfort just knowing it is in my garden.  In any event, I have added a valuable species to my Food Forest.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, plant uses, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Herbals: Wild Lettuce, Lactuca sp.

  1. Helen says:

    I’ve never come across wild lettuce. Do you have any photos?

  2. Helen, I don’t use it but I saw it across the parking lost quick enough. I have enough property now for most anything!

Leave a Reply

